Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

12 products of ‘local policy’ in Munster squad for to-morrow

12 CHANGES for Munster from the side that beat Castres in the Champions Cup as they face Zebre at Thomond Park tomorrow night in the Guinness PRO14. There’s plenty to muse over in the selection with a number players returning from long term injuries and 17 products of the provincial system included in the 23.
Gerbrandt Grobler is on the bench and looks set to make his long-awaited PRO14 debut while Billy Holland along with Simon Zebo and Jean Kleyn remain from the last outing.
Scrum-half Duncan Williams (pictured) makes his 150th Munster appearance and is partnered in the half-backs by JJ Hanrahan.
Seventeen of the 23-man squad are products of the Munster system with all but two of the squad Irish-qualified.
The back three is made up of Zebo, Darren Sweetnam and Alex Wootton – the province’s top try-scorer so far this season with seven tries.
Dan Goggin makes his first start of the season after recovering from a knee injury with Sammy Arnold also back in the side for his first appearance since New Year’s Day.
James Cronin returns from international duty to start at loosehead prop with Niall Scannell at hooker and Brian Scott at tighthead.
Holland is named in the second row alongside Kleyn as Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Oliver and Robin Copeland make up the back row.
John Ryan is among the replacements having featured in Ireland’s dramatic win over France in the 6 Nations last week with Ian Keatley and Rory Scannell also back from international duty.
Gerbrandt Grobler and John Poland are both in line to make their Guinness PRO14 debuts off the bench with Kevin O’Byrne, Jeremy Loughman and Dave O’Callaghan completing the replacements.
O’Callaghan is named in a Munster squad for the first time this season having recovered from a knee injury sustained last April.
Munster: Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Sammy Arnold, Dan Goggin, Alex Wootton; JJ Hanrahan Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, Brian Scott; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (C); Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Oliver, Robin Copeland.
Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan, Gerbrandt Grobler, Dave O’Callaghan, John Poland, Ian Keatley, Rory Scannell.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login