Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Big shock as Leinster crash out of the PRO12

(Gerald Davies will be happy with Welsh side’s victory)
Guinness PRO12 Championship semi-final:
Leinster 15, Scarlets 27:
WHEN Isa Nacewa hit the upright with what was a simple conversion by anyone’s standard and Jonathan Sexton, who looked as if he had not really recovered from a first half injury, performed way below par it was obvious that this was not going to Leinster’s night.
The errors continued with a series of knock-ons and a couple of Sexton restarts that gifted possession back to the Welsh visitors.
The Scarlets, who had to play with 14 players for the entire second half after left wing Steph Evans was shown red, deserved their victory. They were tenacious all around the park, looked cool under pressure and gave a superb display throughout to snatch a victory that will warm the hearts of the Welsh Valleys.
Evans scored the opening Scarlets try on nine minutes, converted by Rhys Patchell and a penalty by Isa Nacewa left four points between the sides with 19 minutes played. The errors began to mount up for Leinster with Triggs, Henshaw, Van den Flier and Sexton all guilty of spills. Still, they got a try from Gary Ringrose, converted by Nacewa on 23 minutes to lead 10-7. They never led again in this highly-charged game with Aaron Shingler going over after another super break by the reds and Patchell’s conversion pushing the Scarlets lead to 10-14. Gareth Davies added to the home woes with try number three for the Welsh, the conversion by Patchell making it 10-21 as this game began to move away from Leo Cullen’s boys.
Down to 14 men, the Scarlets concentrated on their defensive duties as the second half got underway but a Jack Conan try gave the home fans hope only for Nacewa to hit the left hand upright with a conversion that looked hard to miss. Leinster had a few chances to save their blushes but the Scarlets saw out the victory with a brace of Liam Williams penalties.
Scarlets: 15 Johnny Mcnicholl, 14 Liam Williams, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Steff Evans, 10 Rhys Patchell, 9 Gareth Davies, 1 Rob Evans, 2 Ryan Elias, 3 Samson Lee, 4 Lewis Rawlins, 5 Tadhg Beirne, 6 Aaron Shingler, 7 James Davies, 8 John Barclay [c]
Replacements; Emyr Phillips, Wyn Jones, Werner Kruger, David Bulbring, Will Boyde, Jonathan Evans, Hadleigh Parkes, DTH van der Merwe

You must be logged in to post a comment Login