Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Chance for JJ to nail the number fifteen shirt for Euro games

IT’S going to be a hectic six week-ends for Munster with games against Cardiff Blues tomorrow followed by fixtures against Ulster, Leinster, Exeter Chiefs, Gloucester Rugby and Glasgow Warriors.
JJ Hanrahan (pictured) gets a chance to nail down the number fifteen jersey after being named to start against Cardiff. A decent performance would certainly bolster his chances with the province not having too many options for that position.
Munster head coach Johann van Graan has named his side to face Cardiff Blues in the Guinness PRO14 at Cardiff Arms Park on Friday night (7.35pm, live on eir Sport and TG4) which includes the powerful back-row of Peter O’Mahoney, Chris Cloete and CJ Stander.
There are six changes to the side that beat Ospreys last week as CJ Stander makes his first appearance of the season in a back row that also includes captain Peter O’Mahony and Chris Cloete.
Jaco Taute makes his first start since returning from injury alongside Rory Scannell while hooker Mike Sherry and second row Jean Kleyn are the only two alterations to the pack.
JJ Hanrahan joins Andrew Conway and Darren Sweetnam in the back three as Duncan Williams and Joey Carbery continue their half-back partnership.
James Cronin and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with Sherry and Kleyn joins Tadhg Beirne in the engine room.
O’Mahony, Cloete and Stander make up the back row.
Three Greencore Munster Rugby Academy players are among the replacements. Hooker Diarmuid Barron, scrum-half Jack Stafford and winger Shane Daly are all included with Barron in line to make his senior debut. Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Tommy O’Donnell and Bill Johnston complete the squad.
Munster: JJ Hanrahan; Andrew Conway, Jaco Taute, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Joey Carbery, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander.
Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack Stafford, Bill Johnston, Shane Daly.
Player update – Keith Earls and Rhys Marshall reported knocks during the week and were not available for selection.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login