Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Classy running rugby seals big Munster victory over the Kings

Guinness PRO14 Championship
Southern Kings 22, Munster 39
MUNSTER turned on the style with a blistering second half display tonight in South Africa and ran out deserving bonus point winners over a determined Kings. Ian Keatley kicked Munster into an early lead but the Kings replied with a try from blindside flanker Andisa Ntsila on 27 minutes, converted by Masixole Banda for a 7-3 lead. The South Africans increased their lead to 12-3 on 30 minutes when Stefan Greeff got over to push their advantage to 12-3. Full-back Banda then converted a penalty to bring the score to 15-3 but Munster fought back with Niall Scannell getting over only for Keatley to miss the conversion.
Munster added to their 15-8 scoreline just before the break with a try from Young Munster wing Calvin Nash and it was 15-13 at the break. The second half saw Munster steam ahead with a try from CJ Stander, converted by Keatley and a brilliant piece of rugby with Rory Scannell feeding Wooton on the right wing, Calvin Nash’s off-load was high quality and Dan Goggin stormed through for a classic touchdown. JJ Hanrahan missed the conversion but the turnaround saw the Irish province gallop into a 15-25 lead. Tries from Rhys Marshall and Dave Kilcoyne, both converted by Keatley, followed to extend the Munster lead to 15-39 but the Kings put in a game finish, Michael Mikase capping a fluent move to touch down near the posts and Banda adding the extra.
Stephen Fitzgerald had an outstanding outing, making a few telling breaks, while Jack Stafford got his first taste of South African rugby when he came on late in the second half.
Southern Kings: Masixole Banda; Michael Makase, Jacques Nel, Berton Klaasen, Yaw Penxe; Martin Du Toit, Godlen Masimla; Schalk Ferreira (C), Stephan Coetzee, Pieter Scholtz; Stephan Greeff, Bobby De Wee, Andisa Ntsila, Martinus Burger, Ruaan Lerm. Replacements, Alandre Van Rooyen, Justin Forwood, Luvuyo Pupuma, Lubabalo Mtyanda, Lusanda Badiyana, Rudi Van Rooyen, Ntabeni Dukisa, Luzuko Vulindlu.
Munster: JJ Hanrahan; Calvin Nash, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton; Ian Keatley, James Hart; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Gerbrandt Grobler; Dave O’Callaghan, Conor Oliver, CJ Stander (C).
Replacements: Rhys Marshall, David Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Billy Holland, Jack O’Donoghue, Jack Stafford, Stephen Fitzgerald, Robin Copeland.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login