Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Coach Cheika goes for ‘same again’ in search of a series win

THERE has been a clear declaration of confidence by Australian head coach Michael Cheika by naming the same match-day squad for next Saturday’s second test against Ireland in Melbourne. In contrast, Joe Schmidt has wielded the axe, with eight changes in his starting line-up. Munster’s Keith Earls (pictured) and Andrew Conway start on the wings, Jonathan Sexton returns at out-half with Gary Ringrose replacing Bundi Aki in the centre. It is also welcome news that Niall Scannell gets the nod for the number two shirt, Devin Toner replaces Ian Henderson in the second row in the back-row Dan Leavy comes in at seven with captain Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander. In the front row, Cian Healy is at loose head and Tadhg Furlong at tight head while Munster’s Tadhg Beirne looks set to make his Ireland debut after being named on the bench.
Ireland: Rob Kearney; Andrew Conway, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, Keith Earls; Jonny Sexton, Conor Murray; Cian Healy, Niall Scannell, Tadhg Furlong; James Ryan, Devin Toner; Peter O’Mahony (capt), Dan Leavy, CJ Stander. Replacements: Rob Herring, Jack McGrath, Andrew Porter, Tadhg Beirne, Jordi Murphy, John Cooney, Joey Carbery, Jordan Larmour
Australia: Israel Folau; Dane Haylett-Petty, Samu Kerevi, Kurtley Beale, Marika Koroibete; Bernard Foley, Will Genia; Scott Sio, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Sekope Kepu, Izack Rodda, Adam Coleman; David Pocock, Michael Hooper (captain), Caleb Timu. Replacements: Tolu Latu, Tom Robertson, Taniela Tupou, Rob Simmons, Lukhan Tui, Pete Samu, Nick Phipps, Reece Hodge.
Kick-off in Melbourne is 11am with live converage on RTE’s 2FM as well as being shown on Sky Sport.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login