Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Edinburgh celebrate a deserved PRO14 victory over Munster

(Edinburgh’s Richard Cockerill, happiest of the two coaches tonight)
Guinness PRO14 Championship:
Edinburgh 12, Munster 6
MUNSTER scored first but it was a below-par performance from Johaan van Graan’s side in Murrayfield tonight as they we down to Edinburgh. The result does not seriously effect the Irish province in Conference A of this Guinness PRO14 Championship but the win gives hope to the Scottish side as they try to keep ahead of Ulster in the B section.
JJ Hanrahan gave Munster an early lead from a penalty but a try by Duhan van der Merwe saw the home side lead 5-3 at the break. A second JJ Hanrahan penalty pushed the visitors 5-6 in front on 48 minutes and Edinburgh were reduced to 14 players three minutes later when Jason Harries was shown yellow. Six minutes later, Dougie Fife touched down, only for the score to be ruled out by the TMO. Edinburgh continued to cause problems for Munster and they got the vital second try on 56 minutes. The Scots pack set up the score and when the ball went through the hands, left wing Duhan van der Merwe again found the space for a splendidly taken try near the corner. Jaco van der Walt landed the difficult conversion for a 12-6 lead.
Poor discipline again proved costly for Munster and Edinburgh could have added to their score and deprived their opponents of a losing bonus point with six minutes remaining, but Duncan Weir sent his penalty kick right and wide of the posts.
Munster got a sniff of a chance to snatch the win but were penalised for holding on a few metres outside the Scottish half. Overall, this was a poor display by Munster. There was a lack-lustre look about some of the players and apart from James Hart at scrum-half, who had a solid outing, Robin Copeland at eight and Jack O’Donoghue at six, the performance lacked spirit and traditional fire.
Big improvement needed when the Scarlets come to Thomond Park next Saturday.
Edinburgh: Dougie Fife; Jason Harries, Mark Bennett, Chris Dean, Duhan van der Merwe; Jaco van der Walt, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne; Jordan Lay, Neil Cochrane, Murray McCallum; Fraser McKenzie, Ben Toolis; Magnus Bradbury, John Hardie, Bill Mata.
Replacements: 16. Cameron Fenton (9); 17. Rory Sutherland (60); 18. Simon Berghan (42); 19. Lewis Carmichael (26); 20. Cornell du Preez (98); 21. Nathan Fowles (53); 22. Duncan Weir (28); 23. Junior Rasolea (25).Munster: Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Sammy Arnold, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton; JJ Hanrahan, James Hart; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (C); Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Oliver, Robin Copeland.
Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack Stafford, Bill Johnston, Dan Goggin.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login