Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Garryowen’s Mike Sherry starts for Munster A in Cork

(Pic, Shannon’s Sean McCarthy starts in the second-row. Photo DERMOT LYNCH)
FOLLOWING a long battle with injury, Garryowen hooker Mike Sherry returns to a Munster starting fifteen after being name by ‘A’ Head Coach Peter Malone for tomorrow night’s British and Irish Cup round 2 clash against Nottingham at Irish Independent Park, ko 7.45pm. He is one of seven changes.
29-year-old Sherry’s return to the Munster starting fifteen after a long and painful series of operations, treatment and recovery periods is to be welcomed and he has looked really sharp since he made his come-back appearances in the light blue of his club Garryowen FC in the Ulster Bank AIL. Capped once for Ireland, he came on as a replacement in Dooradoyle against Ballymena this season and had an absolute stormer at the same venue a few weeks back when Garryowen ran in 51 points against a fancied Clontarf side. Last week-end he got some game time from the bench for the A side and, thankfully, he has come through all these recent tests with no recurrence of the shoulder injury.
Other changes for Friday night’s game see James Cronin return from a knee injury to start at loosehead, Darren O’Shea makes his first appearance of the season in the second row, while Cork Constitution’s Evan Mintern completes the changes in the pack after his good showing off the bench in Swansea.
As well as Sherry, three other Garryowen FC players, captain Dave Johnston, out-half Bill Johnston and winger Liam Coombes are also named in the starting XV with Coombes’ academy colleague Jack Power set for his Munster A debut on the right wing. Shannon’s Stephen Fitzgerald moves from the wing full-back, his clubmate Sean McCarthy is in at lock while Young Munster’s Gavin Coombes is at seven.
Named on the bench, academy outhalf Conor Fitzgerald, UCC’s John Hodnett and Young Munster’s Conor Hayes are all in line for B&I Cup debuts.
Munster A: Stephen Fitzgerald, Jack Power, David Johnston – capt., Sam Arnold, Liam Coombes; Bill Johnston, James Hart; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, Brian Scott; Darren O’Shea, Sean McCarthy; Sean O’Connor, Gavin Coombes, Evan Mintern.
Replacements: John Hodnett, Ciaran Parker, Fineen Wycherley, Ronan Coffey, John Poland, Conor Fitzgerald, Conor Hayes.
Munster A v Nottingham, British and Irish Cup round 2, Friday October 20th at Irish Independent Park – ko 7.45pm.

Tickets for this game can be purchased online at or at the ground on the night from 6.45pm.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login