Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Ian Keatley’s timely arrival saves Ireland from possible defeat

(Pictured, Darren Sweetnam, right, playing for Munster)
Ireland 23, Fiji 20
MUNSTER’S Ian Keatley proved to be Ireland’s saviour tonight when he kicked a brace of penalties for Ireland, the second one breaking a 20-20 deadlock and giving his side a narrow victory at the Aviva Stadium.
Munster’s Darren Sweetnam scored a first half try adding to a touchdown by Dave Kearney and an opportunist try from number eight Jack Conan. Joey Carberry was involved in some fine breaks and he set up Sweetnam for his score. Volavola kicked a penalty for the Figians and also converted Henry Geniloli’s try that saw Joe Schmidt’s side lead 17-10 at half time.
Ireland lost their way somewhat in the second half and they were rocked when an intercept by Timochi Nagusa saw him run the whole way to the posts to level the tie at 17-17.
An injury to Joey Carberry saw Ian Keatley called off the bench and the Munster man delivered, landing a penalty to put his side 20-17 ahead but a Volavola penalty levelled it again for the visitors. Close to the end Ireland were awarded another close-in penalty and Keatley again hit the target to give his side a second autumn international series victory in succession.
Andrew Conway has another outstanding game at full-back while CJ Stander also put in a decent shift when he came off the bench in the final quarter.
After the match it was confirmed that Joe Carberry had broken a bone in his arm and is likely to be out for some time.
Ireland: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Chris Farrell, Stuart McCloskey, Dave Kearney; Joey Carbery, Kieran Marmion; Jack McGrath, Rob Herring, Andrew Porter; Ultan Dillane, Devin Toner; Rhys Ruddock (c), Jordi Murphy, Jack Conan
Replacements: James Tracy, Cian Healy, Tadgh Furlong, Kieran Treadwell, CJ Stander, Luke McGrath, Ian Keatley, Robbie Henshaw.
Fiji: Kini Murimurivalu; Timoci Nagusa, Jale Vatubua, Levani Botia, Nemani Nadolo, Ben Volavola, Henry Seniloli; Campese Ma’afu, Talemaitoga Tuapati, Manasa Saulo, Api Ratuniyarawa, Leone Nakarawa, Dominiko Waqaniburotu, Akapusi Qera, Nemani Nagusa
Replacements: Sunai Koto, Peni Ravai, Kalivati Tawake, Sikeli Nabou, Peceli Yato/Semi Kunatani, Nikola Matawalu, Asaeli Tikoirotuma, Vereniki Goneva.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login