Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Munster name their sides for this week-end’s two fixtures

(Pictured, CJ Stander and Keith Earls, both in action this Saturday)
AFTER the defeat by Cardiff, Munster coach Johann van Graan has rung the changes for the game against Ulster in the first Interpro of the season at Thomond Park tomorrow night.
There are eight changes to the side beaten in Cardiff last week with Alby Mathewson making his Munster debut at scrum-half as Keith Earls and Niall Scannell make their first starts of the season.
Having obtained a work permit in the standard timelines, Mathewson is named at scrum-half for his first Munster appearance.
Mike Haley, Dan Goggin, Earls, Mathewson, Dave Kilcoyne, Scannell, Billy Holland and Tommy O’Donnell all come into the starting side.
Hooker Kevin O’Byrne and prop Ciaran Parker are both set to see their first PRO14 action of the season off the bench with O’Byrne returning from a calf injury.
Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Joey Carbery, Alby Mathewson; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Tadhg Beirne, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony (C), Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.
Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, James Cronin, Ciaran Parker, Jean Kleyn, Arno Botha, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Sammy Arnold.
Celtic Cup Round 5 | Munster A team named for Cardiff Blues A
The Munster A team to face Cardiff Blues A in the Celtic Cup at the Arms Park tomorrow at 2pm has been named by Head Coach Peter Malone.
Bill Johnston captains the team with 11 Greencore Munster Rugby Academy players included in the squad as Munster A go in search of a fourth win in four Celtic Cup games.
Stephen Fitzgerald starts at full-back with Liam Coombes and Calvin Nash on the flanks. It’s an all-Academy centre pairing as Sean French makes his first start for Munster A alongside inside centre Alex McHenry.
It’s also an all-Academy half-back pairing with scrum-half Jack Stafford teaming up with Bill Johnston.
Three senior players are included in the pack with Dave O’Callaghan, Darren O’Shea and Jeremy Loughman all included.
Young Munster’s Conor Philips, a former Crescent College Comprehensive player, is in line to make his Munster A debut off the bench.
Munster A: Stephen Fitzgerald; Liam Coombes, Sean French, Alex McHenry, Calvin Nash; Bill Johnston (C), Jack Stafford; Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman; Darren O’Shea, Sean O’Connor; Dave O’Callaghan, Jack Daly, Gavin Coombes.
Replacements: Eoghan Clarke, Cronan Gleeson, Keynan Knox, Paddy Kelly, John Hodnett, John Poland, Ben Healy, Conor Philips.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login