Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Munster show late flair to earn winning PRO14 bonus point

(Captain Billy Holland had another good outing tonight)
Guinness PRO14:
Munster 33, Zebre 5
WITH tonight’s Guinness PRO14 tie precariously poised at 12-5 12 minutes into the second half, Johaan Graan sprung Ian Keatley and Rory Scannell from the bench. The move proved correct with Munster securing the requisite two extra tries to add to their first half brace. The home side started poorly and it was 26 minutes before they got the first score of the game, Garryowen’s Sammy Arnold set up by Conor Oliver for a well take touchdown. JJ Hanrahan missed the conversion. Four minutes later it was 12-0 to the Munstermen, prop Brian Scott showing his strength and power to crash over and Hanrahan this time landing the conversion three minutes before the break.
The Italians refused to lie down as the second half got underway and they were rewarded on 52 minutes, scrum-half Gugliemo Palazzani getting over with a brave charge five metres from the line. That was as good as it got for Zebre with Munster keeping the scoreboard ticking over with tries from Robin Copeland and Rory Scannell and a second try of the night for centre Sammy Arnold. Ian Keatley kicked two conversions while JJ Hanrahan kicked his second conversion.
On 58 minutes South African Gerbrandt Grobler got a good reception from the home faithful when he came on for his first Guinness PRO14 action since joining the province.
Munster: Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Sam Arnold, Dan Goggin, Alex Wootton; JJ Hanrahan, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, Brian Scott, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (capt), Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Oliver, Robin Copeland.
Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan, Gerbrandt Grobler, Dave O’Callaghan, John Poland, Ian Keatley, Rory Scannell.
Zebre: Ciaran Gaffney; Gabriele Di Giulio, Giulio Bisegni, Faialaga Afamasaga, Giovanbattista Venditti; Serafin Bordoli, Guglielmo Palazzani; Cruze Ah-Nau, Tommaso D’Apice, Eduardo Bello; David Sisi, George Biagi (capt); Renato Giammarioli, Johan Meyer, Jimmy Tuivati.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login