Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Only two Limerick clubs starters named on Ireland Women side

NIAMH Briggs and Ciara Griffin, both of UL Bohemian, are the only local club players named on the Ireland Woman’s starting fifteen for the game against Wales in the third round of the Women’s Six Nations in Donnybrook Stadium this Sunday, 25th February. UL Bohs dup Fiona Reidy and Nicole Cronin are on the bench
Head Coach Adam Griggs has made four changes to the side that overcame Italy, 21-8, in their last match a fortnight ago.
Ciara O’Connor and Leah Lyons, who both featured off the bench in the opening rounds of the tournament, start alongside Lindsey Peat in the front row.
Nichola Fryday is partnered in the second row by Orla Fitzsimons.
Paula Fitzpatrick moves to Number 8 to accommodate the change while captain Ciara Griffin moves to the blindside. Claire Molloy completes the back-row trio.
There is one change in the backline with Claire McLaughlin starting for the injured Alison Miller alongside Megan Williams and Kim Flood.
Sene Naoupu and Katie Fitzhenry are again named at centre with Ailsa Hughes and Niamh Briggs in the half-backs.
Both Briggs and Molloy will receive their 60th international cap.
Speaking ahead of the game, Head Coach, Griggs said: “We got a good boost after the win over Italy a fortnight ago. We did what we wanted to, played with tempo and moved the ball. While the performance was far from perfect, we set a marker down for the rest of the campaign.
“We now head into a tough test on Sunday against the Welsh. We are looking to rectify some of the areas of our game that we haven’t been happy with over the past few weeks and if we can make those small changes, it should be a great one.
“Having the crowd behind us against Italy really spurred us on, so we’re hoping to see another big turnout of fans on Sunday in Donnybrook.”
Tickets for the Ireland Women’s home games in Donnybrook are available now via
The IRFU is offering a bus subsidy of up to 400 euro per club for private transport hire. For more information on the bus subsidy for the 2018 Women’s Six Nations, contact before purchasing tickets.
Ireland Women Team & Replacements (v Wales, 2018 Womens 6 Nations Championship, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin, Sunday, February 25th, kick-off 3pm)
15 – Kim Flood (Railway Union/ Leinster)
14 – Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
13 – Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock College/ Leinster)
12 – Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
11 – Claire McLaughlin (Cooke/ Ulster)
10 – Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemian / Munster)
9 – Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/ Leinster)
1 – Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster)
2 – Ciara O’Connor (Galwegians/ Connacht)
3 – Leah Lyons (Highfield/ Munster)
4- Orla Fitzsimons (St Mary’s/ Leinster)
5 – Nichola Fryday (Tullamore/ Connacht)
6 – Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/ Munster) Captain
7 – Claire Molloy (Bristol)
8 – Paula Fitzpatrick (St Mary’s/ Leinster)
16- Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/ Leinster)
17 – Laura Feely (Galweigians/ Connacht)
18 – Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
19 – Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/ Leinster)
20 – Edel McMahon (Galwegians/ Connacht)
21 – Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/ Munster)
22 – Michelle Claffey (Blackrock College/ Leinster)
23 – Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
Ireland Women’s Six Nations Fixtures 2018
Saturday 3rd February 2018
France Women 24 v 0 Ireland Women
Sunday 11th February 2018
Ireland Women 21 v 8 Italy Women, 1pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin
Sunday 25th February 2018
Ireland Women v Wales Women, 3pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin
Sunday 11th March 2018
Ireland Women v Scotland Women, 1pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin
Friday 16th March 2016
England Women v Ireland Women, 5.30pm, Ricoh Arena, Coventry

You must be logged in to post a comment Login