Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Peter O’Mahony honoured with captaincy for Lions v NZ Maoris

MUNSTER’S Peter O’Mahony, (pictured, right) has been honoured by being selected to captain the Lions for Saturday’s next game of the tour against the New Zealand Maoris. Also included in the matchday squad are Tadhg Furlong, Sean O’Brien, Conor Murray and Jonathan Sexton. Jack McGrath and Iain Henderson are named on the bench.
Head coach Warren Gatland said: “Peter is a proven captain with Munster who never takes a backward step and we believe that those leadership qualities will serve us well on Saturday against a quality and determined Maori All Blacks team.”
British & Irish Lions squad
1. Mako Vunipola – Saracens, England
2. Jamie George – Saracens, England
3. Tadhg Furlong – Leinster, Ireland
4. Maro Itoje – Saracens, England
5. George Kruis – Saracens, England
6. Peter O’Mahony (capt) – Munster, Ireland
7. Sean O’Brien – Leinster, Ireland
8. Taulupe Faletau – Bath Rugby, Wales
9. Conor Murray – Munster, Ireland,
10. Johnny Sexton – Leinster, Ireland,
11. George North – Northampton Saints, England
12. Ben Te’o – Worcester Warriors, England
13. Jonathan Davies – Scarlets, Wales
14. Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby, England
15. Leigh Halfpenny – Toulon, Wales
16. Ken Owens – Scarlets, Wales
17. Jack McGrath – Leinster, Ireland
18. Kyle Sinckler – Harlequins, England
19. Iain Henderson – Ulster, Ireland
20. Sam Warburton – Cardiff Blues, Wales
21. Greig Laidlaw – Gloucester Rugby, Scotland
22. Dan Biggar – Ospreys, Wales
23. Elliot Daly – Wasps, England

You must be logged in to post a comment Login