Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

The Anthony Foley trophy goes to Owen Farrell

IN a fitting tribute to the late and great Munsterman, his wife Olive presented the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy to Saracens out-half and EPCR European Player of the Year Owen Farrell after yesterday’s victory over Clermont Auvergne in Murrayfield.
The Saracens fly-half scored 13 points as the holders of the European Rugby Champions Cup successfully defended their crown against the French club in Edinburgh. As well as the prestigious accolade, the England international scooped one million air miles courtesy of tournament partners, Turkish Airlines.
Farrell emerged as the winner from a shortlist of five players that also included his team-mate Maro Itoje, who won the award in 2016. ASM Clermont Auvergne’s Camille Lopez, Leinster Rugby’s Garry Ringrose and Munster Rugby’s CJ Stander were also nominated.
There was an unprecedented level of engagement during the public vote which was combined with the views of a distinguished panel of rugby experts to produce the season’s winner.
Past winners: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby tournaments); Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby) 2011; Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby) 2012; Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon) 2013; Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon) 2014; Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne) 2015, Maro Itoje (Saracens) 2016
The Judging Panel was made up of: Emmanuel Massicard (Editor, Midi Olympique), Stuart Barnes (Sky Sports/The Sunday Times), Mick Cleary (Rugby Correspondent, The Daily Telegraph), Matthieu Lartot (France Televisions), Dimitri Yachvili (beIN Sports), Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), Andy Nicol (BBC Sport)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login