Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Well-organised Munster too crafty for the Leicester Tigers

(Pictured, Johaan Graan: relieved or elated?)
Leicester Tigers 16, Munster 25
A TYPICALLY professional display of intelligent and well-executed rugby tonight in Welford Road saw Munster get their toes into the quarter finals of this season’s European Champions Cup.
They matched Leicester in every aspect of a highly enjoyable contest and they will travel to play Racing 92 in January fully confident of nailing down that last eight place.
George Ford and Ian Keatley traded early penalties before the Tigers went in front with a try by right wing Matthew Tait, converted by Ford. Three Keatley penalties saw Munster leap-frog the home side on the scoreboard and a yellow card for Leicester prop Dan Cole on the stroke of half time added to the home side’s woes.
Ford kicked an early second half penalty but CJ Stander barged over near the try line and Keatley’s conversion put the Reds 19-13 in front.
Another Ford penalty reduced it to 19-16 and a missed drop goal chance for Keatley kept the outcome in the balance. The outhalf then missed a close-in penalty but Munster finished strongly, Ian Keatley nailing two late penalties to deprive the Tigers of a losing bonus point.
Leicester Tigers: Matthew Tait; Adam Thompstone, Manu Tuilagi, Matt To’omua, Jonny May; George Ford, Ben Youngs; Kyle Traynor, Tom Youngs (c), Dan Cole, Michael Fitzgerald, Graham Kitchener, Tino Mapapalangi, Mike Williams, Sione Kalafamoni_Replacements: Tatafu Polota-Nau, Logovii Mulipola, Chris Baumann, Dom Barrow, Luke Hamilton, Sam Harrison, Joe Ford, Nick Malouf.
Munster Rugby: Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Sam Arnold, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony (c), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander Replacements: Niall Scannell, Brian Scott, John Ryan, Darren O’Shea, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, JJ Hanrahan, Keith Earls.
Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France), Assistant ref: Tual Trainini (France), Assistant ref: Mathieu Noirot (France), TMO: Philippe Bonhoure (France), Citing Commissioner: Jeff Mark (Wales)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login