Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Zebo’s farewell marked by a creditable Munster performance

Guinness PRO14 Championship:
Munster 21, Glasgow Warriors 10
MUNSTER lost Andrew Conway before the start of tonight’s game but they carved out a victory that shortens the gap between themselves and the Scottish side in the Conference.
The home got off to a good start with Tyler Bleyendaal kicking a close-in penalty and a try from Niall Scannell converted by Bleyendaal pushed the lead to 10-0.
A brilliant defensive tackle by Garryowen’s Alex Wooton prevented a certain touchdown by Glasgow’s Matt Smith and Munster pushed the lead to 13-0 before the break with another Bleyendaal penalty kick.
George Horne scored a try for the visitors and a conversion and penalty almost turned the game in favour of Glasgow with Adam Hastings kicking a conversion and penalty to reduce the lead to three points at 13-10.
A try by James Cronin sealed the win for Munster.
On a night when Simon Zebo paid farewell to this Cork venue, injuries the Niall Scannell and Chris Coete as well a recurrence of a knee injury for Andrew Conway, dampened the occasion somewhat.Munster: Simon Zebo; Calvin Nash (Darren Sweetnam 78), Sam Arnold, Dan Goggin, Alex Wootton; Tyler Bleyendaal (Ian Keatley 67), James Hart (Duncan Williams 78); James Cronin (Dave Kilcoyne 67), Niall Scannell (Rhys Marshall 43), Stephen Archer (Brian Scott 74); Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Dave O’Callaghan, Chris Cloete (Jack O’Donoghue 48), Robin Copeland (Gerbrandt Grobler 74).
Glasgow Warriors: Ruairidh Jackson; Lee Jones, Sam Johnson, Brandon Thomson, Ratu Tagive (Nicko Matawalu 74).; Adam Hastings (Richie Vernon 68), George Horne (Henry Pyrgos 59); Ollie Kebble (Alex Allan 62), James Malcolm (Grant Stewart half-time), Siu Halanukonuka (Zander Fagerson 56); Kiran McDonald (Lewis Wynne 74), Scott Cummings; Rob Harley, Matt Smith (Chris Fusaro 59), Matt Fagerson.
Referee: Marius Mitrea (France).

You must be logged in to post a comment Login