Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

11 changes for Munster’s clash with Cardiff

(Pictured, Johne Murphy, starts at full-back)

HAVING a squad, all of whom are capable of stepping up to the plate when called upon, is very much part of the Munster set-up and they will be hoping that the side named for the visit to Cardiff to-morrow can continued the good progress made in recent weeks.
Without the international call-up boys, Anthony Foley has made 11 personnel changes from the side that beat Saracens for this Guinness Pro 12 clash in the Arms Park (5.15).
In the front row John Ryan returns from illness to start at loosehead alongside hooker Kevin O’Byrne, while BJ Botha retains his starting position at tighthead.
Munster’s most capped player Donncha O’Callaghan returns to the matchday squad and will captain the side from the second row alongside Billy Holland who is promoted from the bench for this weekend’s clash.
In the back row CJ Stander switches from 8 to 6, and following two strong performances for Munster A in the B & I Cup, in which he scored two tries, Paddy Butler starts at 7. Robin Copeland is also promoted to a starting position as he faces his old Cardiff team-mates from the back of the scrum at 8.
In the half backs Duncan Williams and JJ Hanrahan are paired from the start for the first time this season while impressive appearances in all Munster A games to date this season sees year two Academy player Rory Scannell on course to make his first senior competitive appearance, going so alongside the in-formAndrew Smith in the midfield.
Having trained with Ireland at Carton House earlier this week, Andrew Conway remains on the right wing with Gerhard van den Heever coming in on the opposite flank, while Johne Murphy also returns to the starting line-up at full back.
Following his inclusion in the Ireland squad for the upcoming November Series, Stephen Archer provides front row cover on the bench and year two Academy second row Sean McCarthy is another in line to make his competitive debut after being named amongst the replacements. Young Munster prop Alan Cotter and back-row Garryowen’s Barry O’Mahony could also feature in the Guinness PRO12 for the first time this season.
Munster: Johne Murphy, Andrew Conway, Andrew Smith, Rory Scannell, Gerhard van den Heever; JJ Hanrahan, Duncan Williams; John Ryan, Kevin O’Byrne, BJ Botha; Donncha O’Callaghan, capt; Billy Holland; CJ Stander, Paddy Butler, Robin Copeland
Replacements: Eusebio Guinazu, Alan Cotter, Stephen Archer, Sean McCarthy, Barry O’Mahony, Cathal Sheridan, Johnny Holland, Ronan O’Mahony.
Cardiff Blues v Munster, Guinness PRO12 Round 7, BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park, Saturday November 1st – KO 5:15pm.
This game will be televised live on Sky Sports 2.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login