Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Allende and Snyman will make their debuts as Munster name side for derby clash

NEW signings Damian de Allende and RG Snyman will both make their Munster starting debuts to-morrow night when they take on Leinster in the Guinness PRO14 at the Aviva Stadium (7.35pm, live on eir Sport). Jack O’Donoghue was not available for selection having sustained a concussion at training this week.
Shane Daly makes his fifth start at full-back and his 18th appearance for the province with Ireland internationals Andrew Conway and Keith Earls on either flank. De Allende is partnered in the centre by Chris Farrell with Conor Murray and JJ Hanrahan in the half-backs. James Cronin, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer start in the front row with Snyman and Billy Holland in the engine room.
The side is completed by the back row of captain Peter O’Mahony, Tommy O’Donnell and CJ Stander.
There are five forwards on the bench with Rhys Marshall, Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan providing the front row back-up.
Lock Jean Kleyn and back-row Chris Cloete complete the forward cover. Craig Casey, Rory Scannell. Another new signing, Matt Gallagher, is also set to make his debut in the backline after being named in the replacements.
Head Coach Johann van Graan said: “It was a real squad effort over the last nine weeks, everyone gave it their all.
“Unfortunately, we can only pick 23 players. There were a lot of close calls and that just shows the depth that we’ve created.
“With such a long season coming up, everybody wants to play the first game but there’s a lot of rugby to be played. We said all along that getting back to playing rugby on Saturday night is our sole objective.
“A few of the guys in isolation were very close to getting into the team and they worked really hard but obviously the fact that they were in self-isolation ruled them out. They are training away at home and as soon as they come out of self-isolation, they will be available for selection again.”
Munster: Shane Daly; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende, Keith Earls; JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; RG Snyman, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony (C), Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander. Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Chris Cloete, Craig Casey, Rory Scannell, Matt Gallagher.
Next up for Munster in this Guinness PRO14 Round 15 will be a game against  Connacht on Wednesday, August 26.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login