Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Ba-Bas shock Irish in Limerick

Ireland 21, Barbarians 22

AN attendance of 16,110 at Thomond Park tonight enjoyed a fine display of open rugby with the visiting Ba Bas fully deserving their victory over a very disppointing Irish fifteen.

A try by Alex Cuthbert on five minutes, Gopperth missing the conversion, was a wakeup call for the Irish and a well taken try from Craig Gilroy, converted by Ian Madigan, saw them lead 7-5 after 17 minutes.

The rest of the half was played in an atmosphere of a funeral parlour with the Irish hardly deserving of their two point lead at the break.

Straight after the break the Ba Bas went 12-7 in front when Gopoerth converted Kirchner’s brilliant try. Ireland were pedestrian and without any attacking ideas.

A Gopperth penalty edged the Ba Bas 15-7 in front on 54 minutes. With the Barbarians tiring Ireland scored their second try through Chris Henry, converted by Madigan on 62 minutes to bring the score to 15-14 and 13 minutes later it was 22-14 to the visitors ehen Alex Cuthbert got his second try convert by Jimmy Gopperth.

The Irish made a late rally and Paddy Jackson got over with Madigan’s conversion leaving a single point between the sides at the finish.

Ireland: R Kearney, D Kearney, C O’Shea (all Leinster), L Marshall, C Gilroy (both Ulster), I Madigan, E Reddan, J McGrath, R Strauss, T Furlong, D Toner (all Leinster), D Tuohy, R Diack, C Henry (all Ulster), J Heaslip (Leinster – captain).

Replacements: R Herring (Ulster), M Bent, M Ross, B Marshall, J Murphy, L McGrath (all Leinster), P Jackson (Ulster), C Kelleher (Leinster).
Barbarians: Zane Kirchner (Leinster & South Africa); Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues & Wales), Joe Rokocoko (Bayonne & New Zealand), Wynand Olivier (Montpellier & South Africa), David Smith (Toulon); Jimmy Gopperth (Leinster), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster & South Africa); Roberto Tejerizo (Tucuman & Argentina), Deon Fourie (Lyon), Adam Jones (Cardiff Blues & Wales); Rodrigo Capo Ortega (Castres & Uruguay), Konstantin Mikautadze (Toulon & Georgia); Shane Jennings (Leinster & Ireland, Capt), Gerhard Vosloo (Toulon), Ryu Koliniasi Holani (Panasonic Wild Knights and Japan).
Replacements: David Ward (Harlequins), Saimone Taumoepeau (Castres & New Zealand), Matias Diaz (Pampas & Argentina), George Whitelock (Panasonic Wild Knights & New Zealand), George Smith (Lyon & Australia), Tomas Cubelli (Belgrano Ath & Argentina), Tusi Pisi (Suntory Sungoliath & Samoa), Gio Aplon (Grenoble & South Africa).

You must be logged in to post a comment Login