Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Battling Blues lose their way as Munster gain easy victory

(Pictured, Tadhg Beirne impressed when introduced. Pic, Joe Buckley)
Guinness PRO14 Championship:
Munster 45, Cardiff Blues 21
IT was easy in the end but Munster had to bring on the cavalry for the last quarter of tonight’s game in Irish Independent Park in Cork to put paid to a brave effort from visitors Cardiff Blues.
Tomos Williams gave the Blues the lead early on with a well-taken try, converted by Gareth Anscombe, but after missing an easy kick Tyler Bleyendaal got his direction correct to land a penalty to make it 3-7 on seven minutes.
Chris Farrell then muscled his way over for a try, converted by Bleyendaal to put Munster 10-7 in front and a Jean Kleyn try, again converted by Bleyendaal pushed the home lead to 17-7. The Blues replied with a converted try before the break to leave just three points between the sides at the break.
Cardiff took a shock lead four minutes into the second half, Rey Lee-Lo racing over, the conversion by Anscombe making it 17-21 but that was to be the last score for the Welsh side.
Munster threw on the ‘heavy gang’ and the effect was almost immediate, CJ Stander crashing over, converted by Tyler Bleyendaal to put the home side ahead again 24-21. On 60 mimutes it was Conor Murray’s to score, Bleyendaal again converting to make it 31-21 and further tries from Andrew Conway and a sixth from Sammy Arnold, after a brilliant break by JJ Hanrahan (who also converted ) gave the reds a 45-21 victory.
Glasgow Warriors also kept up their good form with a bonus point victory over Ulster.
Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Kevin O’Byrne, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, Arno Botha.
Replacements: Niall Scannell, Jeremy Loughman, Stephen Archer, Tadhg Beirne, CJ Stander, Alby Mathewson, JJ Hanrahan, Sammy Arnold.
Cardiff Blues: Gareth Anscombe; Owen Lane, Rey Lee-Lo, Willis Halaholo, Aled Summerhill; Jarrod Evans, Tomos Williams; Rhys Gill, Kristian Dacey (capt), Dillon Lewis, Seb Davies, Rory Thornton, Shane Lewis-Hughes, Olly Robinson, Josh Turnbull.
Replacements: Ethan Lewis, Brad Thyer, Keiron Assiratti, George Earle, James Botham, Lloyd Williams, Garyn Smith, Matthew Morgan.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login