Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Chance for Munster to restore pride in Belfast

(Above, Francis Saili, key player against Ulster. Pic: Joe Buckley)

Guinness Pro 12 League:
Ulster v Munster, Kinspan Stadium, Saturday, January 2, 2016, 3.00pm:
ANTHONY Foley will lead his squad to Belfast tomorrow attempting to break a losing run that has seen Munster lose five games in succession (v Dragons away, Connacht home, Leicester home and away, and Leinster home).
The venue has not been a happy hunting ground for the reds, their most recent disappointment there, a defeat in the Pro 12 final last May at the hands of Glasgow Warriors and on current form, Ulster will be the bookies’favourites.
Ulster wing Andrew Trimble will be winning his 200th cap with the province and he will be keen to add to his tally of 67 tries in his 199 outings so far. The homesters have named a strong squad and will be hoping that Ruan Pienaar at scrum-half and Paddy Jackson at ten can pull the strings for what also looks like a threatening threequarter line.
Munster will also face a battle up front with the Ulster eight looking more settled in recent outings. Number eight Nick Williams will come face to face with his former club and his clashes with CJ Stander will be worth a close look.
Foley has made a few interesting changes with Ian Keatley restored at out-half, Ronan O’Mahony back on the right wing and Argentinian Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino wearing the 11 shirt. Tommy O’Donnell will being badly need energy and pace to the back-row while Mark Chisholm returns to the second row . The performances at scrum time could be crucial for Munster. BJ Botha is a welcome addition at tight head but if Ulster get the nudge early on it could be a long 80 minutes for the visiting eight.
The match will be televised live on Sky Sports.
Ulster: Louis Ludik, Andrew Trimble, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Rory Scholes, Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Kyle McCall, Rory Best (captain), Wiehahn Herbst, Lewis Stevenson, Franco van der Merwe, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Nick Williams;
Replacements: Rob Herring, Callum Black, Ricky Lutton, Alan O’Connor, Roger Wilson, Paul Marshall, Ian Humphreys, Sammy Arnold.
Munster: Andrew Conway; Ronan O’Mahony, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino; Ian Keatley, Tomás O’Leary; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, BJ Botha; Dave Foley, Mark Chisholm; Jack O’Donoghue, Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander Capt.
Replacements: Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Mario Sagario, Billy Holland, Robin Copeland, Duncan Williams, Tyler Bleyendaal, Denis Hurley.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login