Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Experimental Munster are hoping their backs gamble pays off

RASSIE Erasmus admitted that he had taken a chance on a number of positions for the visit to Scotstoun a few weeks back and he has gambled again for tomorrow’s Guinness PRO14 derby game in the Aviva Stadium.
Individually all players selected are top notch but the positioning may need a bit of tweaking before the end of this intriguing pairing. UL Bohemian’s JJ Hanrahan (pictured) has all the skills of a top class backline player but has yet to be fully tested at full-back; Tyler Bleyendaal, who had an off-day with his place-kicking against Glasgow starts in the 12 jersey while Ian Keatley’s star performance against Cardiff Blues earns him his place at out-half.
It seems Munster are going for the kicking game, all back-seven men being more than capable with the boot.
Rassie has stuck with the same pack that started slowly last Saturday in Thomond Park but found their true form in a one-sided second 40 minutes. Munster have enough talent and power in the selection to win this game with the blistering pace of Conway and Earls, the guile and experience of Murray and a pack that would hold their own with any in this league. The Aviva Stadium has been something of a graveyard for the reds on recent visits but they should be good enough to rake back some pride by 4pm tomorrow.
Leinster Rugby: Joey Carbery; Adam Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin, Robbie Henshaw, Barry Daly, Johnny Sexton, Luke McGrath; Jack McGrath; James Tracy, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Scott Fardy
Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan.
Replacements, 16.Seán Cronin, 17. Cian Healy, 18. Michael Bent, 19. Ross Molony, 20. Jordi Murphy, 21. Jamison Gibson-Park, 22. Ross Byrne, 23. Fergus McFadden.
Munster: JJ Hanrahan; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Tyler Bleyendaal, Keith Earls; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Robin Copeland, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony, Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.
Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Liam O’Connor, Stephen Archer, Mark Flanagan, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton.
Leo Cullen announces Leinster squad to face Munster Rugby
Referee: Ben Whitehouse (WRU).
Kick off at 2.00pm. The match will be shown live on SKY Sports, TG4 and RTÉ Radio.
45,000 have already been sold for this Round 6 clash.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login