Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Five Munster players on Irish team v France

(Pictured, Jonathan Sexton, back are injury against France)
BIG talking point of the Irish selection for the game against France at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday in the 2017 RBS 6 Nations Championship is the naming of Jonathan Sexton instead of the in-form Paddy Jackson at out-half. The Ulster man had almost faultless outings in the opening two games but the selectors have opted for the Leinster star. Jackson is on the bench.
Munster’s Keith Earls, Simon Zebo, Conor Murray, Donnacha Ryan and CJ Stander all start with Niall Scannell, John Ryan and Peter O’Mahony on the bench.
Rory Best returns to captain the team after being side-lined in Rome through illness. Best is joined in the front row by Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong. Garry Ringrose continues in midfield.
IRELAND team to play France – Saturday 25th February, 2017
15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 74 caps
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 56 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps
12. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 26 caps
11. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 30 caps
10. Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 63 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 55 caps
8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) vc 93 caps
7. Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster) 46 caps
6. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 12 caps
5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 44 caps
4. Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster) 44 caps
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 13 caps
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) c 101 caps
1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s/Leinster) 38 caps
16. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 1 cap
17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 64 caps
18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 3 caps
19. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 29 caps
20. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 37 caps
21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 10 caps
22. Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 21 caps
23. Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 69 caps

You must be logged in to post a comment Login