Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

In-form Sweetnam retains his wing position for Exeter Chiefs tie

SUCH is the early form of Munster wing Darren Sweetnam (pictured), prospects of higher honours could well be on on his way over the coming season. The Bandon wing appears to be ready to grab the vacant spot created by Simon Zebo’s departure and he will get another chance to shine tomorrow night in Irish Independent Park when Munster entertain Exeter Chiefs (7.30).
Billy Holland will captain the home side in this second game of the Kearys Renault Series 2018.
There are six changes to the starting XV that beat London Irish last week. Mike Haley comes in to make his first start at full-back and fellow new signing Arno Botha is among the replacements in the 31-man squad.
Sweetnam, a try-scorer in last week’s win over London Irish, and Calvin Nash keep their places on the flanks.
Rory Scannell and Dan Goggin, who also touched down against London Irish, resume their centre partnership with Bill Johnston coming in at out-half to join James Hart in the half-backs.
Mike Sherry is promoted to the starting spot at hooker after scoring two tries off the bench last week with Dave Kilcoyne and Brian Scott, another try-scorer last week, completing the front row.
Jean Kleyn and Billy Holland both come in to start with the back row of Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell and Academy man Gavin Coombes unchanged.
There are four Academy players among the replacements – Sean O’Connor, Jack Daly, Shane Daly and Liam Coombes.
Kevin O’Byrne, Jeremy Loughman, Cronan Gleeson and Ciaran Parker provide the front row back-up.
Fineen Wycherley, Darren O’Shea, Arno Botha, Neil Cronin, JJ Hanrahan, Ian Keatley, Sammy Arnold and Stephen Fitzgerald complete the squad.
Munster: Mike Haley; Darren Sweetnam, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Calvin Nash; Bill Johnston, James Hart; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, Brian Scott; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland (C); Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Gavin Coombes.
Replacements from: Kevin O’Byrne, Jeremy Loughman, Cronan Gleeson, Ciaran Parker, Fineen Wycherley, Darren O’Shea, Sean O’Connor, Jack Daly, Arno Botha, Neil Cronin, JJ Hanrahan, Ian Keatley, Shane Daly, Sammy Arnold, Liam Coombes, Stephen Fitzgerald.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login