Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Interesting selection as Munster name side to play Edinburgh

(Dan Goggin, pictured, is named in the replacements)

By Aidan Corr
IT would be appropriate if Munster Rugby played the Simon and Garfunkle hit ‘The Sound of Silence’ before tomorrow night’s game. It will certainly be remembered as one of the strangest occasions at the famous stadium since it first opened its doors 1879.
Performing before silent stands and terraces does not appear to have affected teams so far since the return to rugby action but it will be interesting to see if Edinburgh can benefit from Munster’s enforced lack of home support.
It’s encouraging to see some new faces run out for Munster tomorrow night. Matt Gallagher gets his first Guinness PRO14 home appearance on the left wing while Alex McHenry will also hope to impress when he lines out in the centre. It is no surprise to see Ben Healy getting the nod for the ten shirt while the UL Bohemian duo of Tommy O’Donnell and Jack O’Donoghue with start alongside captain CJ Stander in the back-row.
Edinburgh will be hoping to get a good start and put some early points on the board if they are to run the home side close. Anything less could see the Scots endure further disappointed at the Limerick venue.
Munster: Mike Haley, Andrew Conway, Alex McHenry, Rory Scannell, Matt Gallagher; Ben Healy, Craig Casey; Jeremy Loughman, Rhys Marshall, John Ryan; Fineen Wycherley, Tadhg Beirne, Jack O’Donoghue, Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander (Capt).
Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, James Cronin, Roman Salanoa, Gavin Coombes, John Hodnett, Conor Murray, Jack Crowley, Dan Goggin.
Edinburgh: Damien Hoyland; Darcy Graham, Mark Bennett, George Taylor, Duhan van der Merwe; Jaco van der Walt, Nic Groom; Rory Sutherland, Stuart McInally (Co-captain), WP Nel; Ben Toolis, Grant Gilchrist (Co-captain); Jamie Ritchie, Hamish Watson, Nick Haining.
Replacements: Mike Willemse, Pierre Schoeman, Simon Berghan, Andrew Davidson, Mesulame Kunavula, Dan Nutton, Nathan Chamberlain, James Johnstone.
Referee: Nigel Owens (WRU, 185th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Sean Gallagher, Peter Martin (both IRFU)
TMO: Joy Neville (IRFU)
Live on eir Sport 1, Premier Sports 1, Super Sport Variety 2, ESPN+ (USA), DAZN,

You must be logged in to post a comment Login