Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Ireland make six changes for third test against Springboks

SIGNIFICANT day for Limerick rugby in Port Elizabeth today. Eoin Reddan plays his last game (if called from the bench) and Conor Murray (pictured in his Garryowen days) set to win his 50th cap for Ireland when they try to win a series in South Africa for the first time. Joe Scmidt has made six changes from the side that lost to the Springboks last Saturday. CJ Stander is back after suspension.
Full-back Jared Payne has been ruled out of the series decider with a calf injury. His place will be taken by Connacht’s Tiernan O’Halloran, who won his first cap off the bench during the final minutes of last weekend’s second Test in Johannesburg.
The uncapped Matt Healy is named among the replacements as is Eoin Reddan, who has announced that he will retire from rugby after the match.
Hooker Rory Best will captain Ireland for the 12th time and is rejoined in the front row by Mike Ross, while loosehead prop Jack McGrath is set for his third start of the tour.
Devin Toner and the versatile Iain Henderson reunite in the second row, with flankers Jordi Murphy and CJ Stander returning to the back row to link up with number 8 Jamie Heaslip, who scored his 13th try for Ireland last weekend.
Conor Murray continues his partnership with Paddy Jackson at half-back for what will be his 50th cap. The Limerick man will be the third scrum half after Peter Stringer (98) and Reddan (70) to hit the half-century for Ireland.
Luke Marshall returns to the starting line-up and switches to outside centre with his Ulster colleague Olding retaining the number 12 jersey. Andrew Trimble and Keith Earls complete the back-three alongside O’Halloran.
SOUTH AFRICA: Willie le Roux (Cell C Sharks); Ruan Combrinck (Emirates Lions), Lionel Mapoe (Emirates Lions), Damian de Allende (DHL Stormers), JP Pietersen (Cell C Sharks); Elton Jantjies (Emirates Lions), Faf de Klerk (Emirates Lions); Tendai Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks), Adriaan Strauss (Vodacom Bulls) (capt), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), Eben Etzebeth (DHL Stormers), Pieter-Steph du Toit (DHL Stormers), Francois Louw (Bath), Siya Kolisi (DHL Stormers), Warren Whiteley (Emirates Lions).Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Stormers), Steven Kitshoff (Bordeaux-Begles), Julian Redelinghuys (Emirates Lions), Franco Mostert (Emirates Lions), Jaco Kriel (Emirates Lions), Rudy Paige (Vodacom Bulls), Morne Steyn (Stade Francais), Lwazi Mvovo (Cell C Sharks).
IRELAND: Tiernan O’Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht); Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster), Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster), Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster); Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster), Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster); Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (capt), Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster), Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster).
Replacements: Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht), Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster), Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht), Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Eoin Reddan (Old Crescent/Leinster), Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster), Matt Healy (Connacht).
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Angus Gardner (Australia), Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
Television Match Official: Rowan Kitt (England)
Match Odds (Paddy Power): South Africa to win: 1/3; Draw: 25/1; Ireland to win: 11/4

You must be logged in to post a comment Login