Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Ireland Women name two changes for game against italy


AFTER naming their matchday squad for Ireland’s game against Italy in Round 4 of the Women’s Six Nations Championship,  the selectors have made two personnel changes and one positional switch.
UL Bohemian wing Laura Sheehan and Leah Lyons will replace Eimear Considine and Laura Feely respectively. Tonight the IRFU confirmed that the women’s player that had an inconclusive Covid19 test result has tested negative in her most recent test. The player and her two close contacts from the squad are no longer required to self-isolate. The players will return to the squad following the Italy game. The original decision was a precaution following the inconclusive outcomes of COVID-19 tests on one player and a resultant potential close contact with two other players, one of which was not in the match day team but is part of the wider squad.
Laura Sheehan comes into the starting 15 on the right wing with Leah Lyons joining the replacements. Lauren Delany switches from wing to full-back. As well as Laura, UL Bohs will be represented bu Enya Breen and Ciara Griffin.
Ireland Team and Replacements (v Italy, Energia Park, Saturday 24th October 2020, KO 18.30, Women’s Six Nations Championship)
15. Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/ IQ Rugby) 11 caps
14. Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemian/ Munster) 3 caps
13. Enya Breen (UL Bohemian/ Munster) 7 caps
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) 37 caps
11. Béibhinn Parsons (Blackrock College/ Connacht) 7 caps
10. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) 16 caps
9. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/ Ulster) 9 Caps
1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster) 30 caps
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/ IQ Rugby) 22 caps
3. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) 8 caps
4. Nichola Fryday (Blackrock College/ Connacht) 14 caps
5. Ciara Cooney (Wasps / IQ Rugby) 21 caps
6. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College/ Munster) 3 caps
7. Claire Molloy (Wasps / IQ Rugby) 69 caps
8. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/ Munster) (capt) 32 caps
16. Neve Jones (Malone/ Ulster)*
17. Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union/ Leinster)*
18. Leah Lyons (Harlequins/ IQ Rugby) 24 caps
19. Brittany Hogan (DCU/Old Belvedere/ Ulster)*
20. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College/ Leinster) 1 cap
21. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/ Leinster) 11 caps
22. Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union/ Leinster) 47 caps
23. Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock College/ Leinster) 13 caps

* Denotes uncapped player at this level

You must be logged in to post a comment Login