Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

It could be ‘pay-back time’ for Cardiff as Munster name strong match-day squad

THE Blues won the corresponding fixture last September in the Arms Park but it could well be pay-back time tomorrow night with Munster boss Johann van Graan throwing the majority of his Murrayfield heroes out for the season’s last appearance in Guinness PRO14 at Irish Independent Park (7.35pm).
The mindset of the reds may be ‘envisage we are playing against Saracens’ and we can expect a really positive approach against a Cardiff side that has been having a good run in this competition in recent weeks.
Peter O’Mahony captains Munster with six changes to the team that started last week: Mike Haley, Tyler Bleyendaal (pictured), Kevin O’Byrne, Billy Holland, Chris Cloete and Arno Botha all come into the starting XV.
Haley starts at full-back with Andrew Conway and Keith Earls on either flank as Rory Scannell and Chris Farrell continue their centre partnership. Conor Murray and Bleyendaal team up in the half-backs. The scrum-half gave glowing praise this week to the New Zealander, admiring his style and his coolness under pressure. A good performance from Tyler tomorrow could nail the ten shirt for him should Joey Carbery be unavailable, although JJ Hanrahan has also impressed and will also be in the reckoning.
It’s an impressive looking starting fifteen with Dave Kilcoyne, O’Byrne and John Ryan packing down in the front row and Jean Kleyn and Billy Holland in the engine room. A back-row of O’Mahony, Cloete and Botha will prove a right handful for Cardiff.
The replacements offer all the requirements with pack-men Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, Tadhg Beirne, Jeremy Loughman and CJ Stander all in top form at present while the recovered Sammy Arnold, Alby Mathewson and the forementioned ‘JJ’ all eager to impress at this business-end of the season.
Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Kevin O’Byrne, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, Arno Botha.
Replacements: Niall Scannell, Jeremy Loughman, Stephen Archer, Tadhg Beirne, CJ Stander, Alby Mathewson, JJ Hanrahan, Sammy Arnold.
Cardiff Blues: Gareth Anscombe; Owen Lane, Rey Lee-Lo, Willis Halaholo, Aled Summerhill; Jarrod Evans, Tomos Williams; Rhys Gill, Kristian Dacey (capt), Dillon Lewis, Seb Davies, Rory Thornton, Shane Lewis-Hughes, Olly Robinson, Josh Turnbull.
Replacements: Ethan Lewis, Brad Thyer, Keiron Assiratti, George Earle, James Botham, Lloyd Williams, Garyn Smith, Matthew Morgan.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login