Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

It’s all or nothing as Munster name strong side

THE return of Damian de Allende, Andrew Conway and Gavin Coombes will boost Munster’s chances when they meet Ulster in a ‘must win’ battle for each side in Belfast to-morrow night. They have named a strong side with Carbery and Murray at half-back and a back-row of captain Peter O’Mahony, Alex Kendellen and Gavin Coombes.
The disappointment of the past few weeks has been pushed aside by the Munster squad, according to coach Stephan Larkham this week, but this game is all about the season ending or being extended to the semi-finals at least. It is disappointing that Tadhg Beirne, who trained with the squad this week, did not make the selection but this is a starting fifteen that well capable of advancing. “Mentally, we have dealt with the disappointment of the past two games but Friday’s game is a big challenge. Ulster are very good at the basics, they are good at the breakdown and they have a good kicking game,” said Larkham. “The performance against Leinster was not what we expected, there was inconsistency across the board. The URC is as important for us as the Heineken Cup but there is nothing left if we don’t win on Friday.”

Munster need a big game from Conor Murray in this ‘winner takes all’ fixture and this week he spoke about the days after the defeat by Leinster saying that “the review of that game was the toughest of the year. We were just not good enough and now we just have to perform at our best if we are to remain in this competition.”

Ulster v Munster, Kingspan Stadium, Belfast, 19.35
Referee: Jaco Peyper (SARU, 10th league game)
AR 1: Hollie Davidson (SRU) AR 2: Ben Blain (SRU)
TMO: Marius van der Westhuisen (SARU) and a back-
Live on: Premier Sports, TG4, SuperSport & URC TV
Ulster: Stewart Moore, Rob Baloucoune, James Hume, Stuart McCloskey, Ethan McIlroy, Billy Burns, John Cooney, Andrew Warwick, Rob Herring, Tom O’Toole, Alan O’Connor, Iain Henderson (c), Marcus Rea, Nick Timoney, Duane Vermeulen Replacements: John Andrew, Eric O’Sullivan, Gareth Milasinovich, Kieran Treadwell, Matty Rea, Nathan Doak, Ian Madigan, Ben Moxham.
Munster: Mike Haley, Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende, Keith Earls, Joey Carbery, Conor Murray, Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley, Peter O’Mahony (c), Alex Kendellen, Gavin Coombes. Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan, Jason Jenkins, Thomas Ahern, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Chris Cloete.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login