Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

JJ Hanrahan starts for ‘Emergers’ v Uruguay

By Frank Quinn
WITH ten players on the match-day squad for the Emerging Ireland team to play against Uruguay in the IRB Nations Cup this Wednesday 18th June in the Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest (2pm Irish time), Munster coach Anthony Foley will feel quite happy.
Gaining experience is the key to the future success of Irish rugby and with local club players JJ Hanrahan, Tommy O’Donnell and Dave Foley of UL Bohemian, as well as Ian Keatley and Johne Murphy of Young Munster listed, Limerick is well represented.
Johne Murphy is honoured by being named captain. He plays on the right wing and it is good to see JJ Hanrahan getting a chance to prove himself after being handed the number ten shirt. Keatley is on the bench and likely to make an appearance during the game.
Head Coach, Dan McFarland has made a number of changes to the side who overcame Russia 66 – 0 in their opening game. This game was called to a halt after 45 minutes due to an electrical storm which was deemed too dangerous to continue play.
The ‘Emergers’ have a new look front row sees John Ryan, Bryan Byrne and Richard Lutton all make their first start of the tournament while Billy Holland comes into partner Mick Kearney in the second row.
Tommy O’Donnell moves from openside to blindside flanker, Sean Dougall is named at openside. They are joined by Paddy Butler at no.8 to make up the back row trio.
Emerging Ireland team to play Uruguay (IRB Nations Cup – Wednesday 18th June, Stadionul National Arcul de Triumf, Bucharest – 16:00hrs local/ 14:00hrs Irish time)
15- Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)
14- Johne Murphy (Young Munster/Munster) C
13- Brendan Macken (Blackrock College/Leinster)
12- Eoin Griffin (Galwegians/Connacht)
11- Michael Allen (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
10 – JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster)
9- Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)
1- John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
2- Bryan Byrne (Clontarf/Leinster)
3- Richard Lutton (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
4- Mick Kearney (Clontarf/Connacht)
5- Billy Holland (Cork Constitution/Ulster)
6- Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
7- Sean Dougall (Dolphin/ Munster)
8- Paddy Butler (Shannon/Munster)
16-James Tracy (UCD/Leinster)
17- Callum Black (Malone/Ulster)
18- David Foley (UL Bohemians/Munster)
19- Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
20- Paul Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)
21- Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)
22- Andrew Conway (Blackrock College/Munster)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login