Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Leinster win the bragging rights in relatively tame derby

(Keith Earls, carrying on where he left off on the summer tour with Ireland)
Guinness PRO14
Leinster 23, Munster 17:
IT was far from a classic but the 45,000+ got reasonably good value for their ticket prices as another blue v red clash was played out in the Aviva Stadium today.
Munster will have no complaints. They made a lot of errors and despite good periods when they threatened to take control, their keenest rivals deserved the spoils. A converted try a few minutes before the final whistle gave the reds a losing bonus point that they just about deserved.
Inside centre Rory O’Loughlin was the Leinster hero with a brace of tries with Jonathan Sexton adding the other 13 points with his trusty right boot. A brace of tries from Keith Earls and a penalty and conversions by Ian Keatley accounted for the Munster scores.
So the Aviva jinx continues for the southern province, their third at the venue in five months. Let’s hope they get to winning ways next Sunday week when they hit the road for the South of France and a pool opener against Castres.
Leinster Rugby: Joey Carbery; Adam Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin, Robbie Henshaw, Barry Daly, Johnny Sexton, Luke McGrath; Jack McGrath; James Tracy, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Scott Fardy, Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan.
Replacements, 16. Seán Cronin, 17. Cian Healy, 18. Michael Bent, 19. Ross Molony, 20. Jordi Murphy, 21. Jamison Gibson-Park, 22. Ross Byrne, 23. Fergus McFadden.
Munster: JJ Hanrahan; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Tyler Bleyendaal, Keith Earls; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Robin Copeland, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony, Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.
Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Liam O’Connor, Stephen Archer, Mark Flanagan, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton.
Leo Cullen announces Leinster squad to face Munster Rugby
Referee: Ben Whitehouse (WRU).

You must be logged in to post a comment Login