Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Limerick club players to the fore as Ireland XV take title

IRELAND Club XV retained the Dalriada Cup for the first time since 2012 with a 22-17 win over Scotland Club XV at Energia Park this Friday night. The Club International Series is decided on aggregate score between the two nations, but head coach Gearoid Prendergast’s side were focused on winning in front of their home fans.
“It was a much tougher encounter tonight,” said the Young Munster man. “Scotland played right to the end, but equally our guys were clinical at the right times in the game and there was a lot of heart in our defence.”
The Irish led 12-7 at half-time through tries from Colm Hogan and Michael Melia. Their line-out was a key platform while Player of the Match Pa Ryan of Shannon ran hard lines throughout.
Sam Coghlan Murray showed deft control with his feet to extend the Irish lead before the Scots got within a score late on. Paul Derham’s defensive stop ensured the visitors wouldn’t spoil the party.
Scorers: Ireland Club XV: Tries: Colm Hogan, Mick Melia, Sam Coghlan Murray, Con: James Taylor 2, Pen: James Taylor.
Scotland Club XV: Tries: Gregor Christie, Rhys Davis; Con: Aaron McColm, Colin Sturgeon; Pen: Aaron McColm.
HT: Ireland Club XV 12 Scotland Club XV 07
Ireland Club XV: Jamie Heuston (Garryowen), Colm Hogan (Dublin University), Pa Ryan (Shannon), Bryan Fitzgerald (Garryowen), Matthew Byrne (Terenure College); James Taylor (UCC), Aran Hehir (Shannon); Conor Maguire (Old Wesley), Max Abbott (Cork Constitution), Andrew Keating (Garryowen), Brian Hayes (Cork Constitution), Alan Kennedy (Young Munster), Michael Melia (Terenure College), John Foley (Young Munster), Paul Derham (Old Wesley)
Replacements: Adam Clarkin (Terenure College), Conor Bartley (Young Munster), Corrie Barrett (Garryowen), Peter Claffey (Terenure College), Ryan Murphy (UCC), Gerry Hurley (Cork Constitution), Gearoid Lyons (Clontarf), Sam Coghlan Murray (Terenure College).

You must be logged in to post a comment Login