Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Limerick referees appointed to major fixtures

John Lacey

(Pictured, local referee John Lacey)

THERE was good news for two Limerick referees yesterday. George Clancy will be assistant referee for the Heineken Cup final while John Lacey will referee one of the two European Champions Cup play-off first leg games. Both refs are part of the Munster Association of Referees and have come through the ranks of the Limerick section. George Clancy has officiated at a number of high profile games over the past seven seasons while John Lacey, a former Clanwilliam, Shannon and Munster backline player, has made significant progress as an international referee over the past decade.

The president of the MAR was also honoured. John Cole has been named as Citing Commissioner for the first leg of the European Rugby Champions play-off between London Wasps and Stade Francais. Refereeing that game will be John Lacey, under Cole’s guidance, has certainly emerged as one of the best young referees on the current international rugby circuit.

George Clancy of the Bruff Rugby Football Club has been honoured by being appointed assistant referee for the Heineken Cup final between Saracens and Toulon in Cardiff on Saturday, May 24

Here are the full details

John Lacey of Ireland will referee the first leg of the European Rugby Champions Cup play-off between London Wasps (seventh placed club in the Aviva Premiership) and Stade Francais Paris (seventh placed club in the Top 14) at Adams Park on Sunday (18 May) with Wales’ Nigel Owens taking charge of the second leg at Stade Jean Bouin on Saturday, 24 May.

European Rugby Champions Cup play-off

First leg – Sunday

London Wasps v Stade Francais Paris, Adams Park 15.00

Referee: John Lacey (Ire); Assistant referee 1: Dudley Phillips (Ire); Assistant referee 2: Michael Black (Ire); TMO: Simon McDowell (Ire); Citing commissioner: John Cole (Ire)

Second leg – Saturday, 24 May

Stade Francais Paris v London Wasps, Stade Jean Bouin 13.45

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wal); Assistant referee 1: Ian Davies (Wal); Assistant referee 2: Sean Brickell (Wal); TMO: Derek Bevan (Wal); Citing commissioner: Jeff Mark (Wal).


You must be logged in to post a comment Login