Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Marauding Munster march on with some style

Munster v Ospreys, Guinness PRO12 round 8, Friday November 4th at Irish Independent Park, ko 7.35pm.
Munster 33, Ospreys 0
THIS was another high performance from Munster. Looking supremely fit, fast and focused all around the park, they easily swept aside the challenge of the Welsh visitors and over the 80 minutes there was only one side going to win this game in Cork tonight.
Right from the kick-off Munster looked controlled and determined to continue their winning run and as the game progressed, it was only a matter of patience and time before they got their just reward of a winning bonus point. Outstanding performances from Darren Sweetman, Tyler Bleneydaal, Ronan O’Mahony, man of the match Dave Kilcoyne and Rory Scannell ensured that this was going to be another night to savour for the red supporters. Bleneydaal missed june one from his five attempts at the posts and continues to show the promised that heralded his arrival over two seasons ago. Jaco Taupe had to retire early with a head injury but Ian Keatley also gave a fine display when he came in as his replacement in the centre.
This win may move Munster up the table and the home coaching camp will be very pleased with the results over the past three outings.
Rassies charges dominated the first half and it could have been more than the 14-0 scoreline at the break. Eight minutes in they were rewarded for some fine rugby, Dave Kilcoyne going over and Tyler Bleyendaal striking the ball sweetly between the posts. Quicker to react, fully committed at the tackle and the breakdown, the red shirts were completely on top and fine breaks by Darren Sweetman and Ronan O’Mahony as well as some astute kicking for position from Rory Scannell and Bleyendaal kept the pressure on the Ospreys. The almost inevitable second try came on 13 minutes. Patient build-up by the pack saw the Welsh run out of numbers and Darren Sweetman had only to fall over the line when he received the final pass almost at the corner flag. Again, Bleyendaal’s conversion was on the money and 14-0 was just reward for a fine opening quarter by Munster.
Despite a lot of possession they failed to add to that score and it took a smart turnover by Jack O’Donoghue a metre from the home line to deprive the Ospreys of a try five minutes before the break. It was the only time in the game that the Welsh side had threatened to score.
Ospreys had a chance to get on the scoreboard early in the second half but lost their own lineout and in the next phase they were turned over at the breakdown ten metres from the Munster line. They self-destructed again on 53 minutes, a nowhere pass bounced into the hands of Ronan O’Mahony and the winger touched down with ease. Bleyendaal missed the conversion but it was his only blip on a night when he shone brightly.
At 19-0 Munster went in search of the bonus point and it duly arrived, Dave Kilcoyne capping a fine display of loose head ability, picking up a metre from the line and crashing over for his second try of the night and Bleyendaal converting with ease to bring the score to 26-0 and the four try bonus point secured.
Hooker Rhys Marshall and South African scrum-half Abrie Griesel of Young Munster got on late in the game to make their Munster debuts and a try from Robin Copeland, again converted by Tyler Bleyendaal, finished a job well done by the home side.
Munster XV: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Jaco Taute, Rory Scannell, Ronan O’Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Darren O’Shea, Robin Copeland; Peter O’Mahony Capt., Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.
Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Peter McCabe, Brian Scott, John Madigan, Conor Oliver, Abrie Griesel, Ian Keatley, Alex Wootton.
Ospreys: Dan Evans; Keelan Giles, Ben John, Ashley Beck, Eli Walker; Josh Matavesi, Tom Habberfield (Capt); Paul James, Sam Parry, Dmitri Arhip; Lloyd Ashley, Adam Beard; Rob McCusker, Olly Cracknell, Joe Bearman.
Replacements, 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Gareth Thomas, 18 Ma’afu Fia, 19 Rhodri Jones, 20 Scott Otten, 21 Brendon Leonard, 22 Jonathan Spratt, 23 Dafydd Howells.
Referee, Marius Mitrea, ITA.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login