Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Munster Cup returns to Dooradoyle after a well-deserved victory over UL Bohemian

Munster Senior Cup final:
Garryowen 18, UL Bohemian 3
GARRYOWEN won their 39th Munster Senior Cup title tonight at the Markets Field, beating a UL Bohemian side that failed to show enough attacking flair throughout the 80 miutres. It was an impressive display from the light blues and they fully deserved their first title since 2012.
Garryowen had the best of the opening half and they took the lead on 15 minutes. Neil Cronin fed Jamie Gavin from a scrum outside the 22, Gavin launched a high kick to the right wing and Hugh O’Brien-Kennedy raced through a few would-be tacklers for a fine try which Cronin converted. The light blue pack were getting better return at their scrum, the penalty count mounted against Bohs but Garryowen missed a chance to increase their lead when Cronin’s penalty from 40 metres drifted left and wide. Bohs got their first chance of a score five minutes before the break but Garryowen forced a knock-on near the line. Their pressure paid off with Robbie Bourke kicking a close in penalty to reduce the lead to 7-3.
The second half was evenly balanced and we had to wait until the 63rd minute before the next score, a penalty in front of the posts from Neil Cronin that pushed Garryowen 10-3 in front. The Dooradoyle side dominated from there to the finish and Liam Coombes sealed the win with a well taken try on 73 minutes. Neil Cronin added a further three points with another penalty as the AIL 1A cruised to victory.
Garryowen: Andrew O’Byrne; Liam Coombes, Hugh I’Brien-Kennedy, Peter Collins, James McInerney; Jamie Gavin, Neil Cronin; Andrew Keating, Liam Cronin, Jonathan Phelan; Timothy Ferguson, Dean Moore; Darren Ryan, Mike Wilson, Mark Rowley. Replacements, Diarmuid Barron, Niall Horan, Sean Rennisson, David McCarthy, Aaron Leonard Rice, Aaron McCloskey, Jack Daly.
UL Bohemian: Jamie McCarthy; Jamie McNamara, Adrian Enright, Henry Fleming, Colin Ryan; Robbie Bourke, Joe Murray; Mark Bromell, Joe Bennett; Darragh Frewley, Ed Kelly; James Ryan, Ian Condell, Noel Kinnane. Replacements, David Rowsome, David O’Connor, Michael Mullally, Darragh O’Grady, Robert Hennessy, Sean English, Pauric Nesbitt.
Referee, Richard Horgan, MAR.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login