Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Munster keen to complete their season in styler

A LOT of eyes will be on full-back Matt Gallagher tonight when he lines out with Munster for their last game of the season, away to Zebre. Returning after a shoulder injury, the New Zealander with Limerick connections is i prime position now to make an impact and put pressure on Mike Haley and Simon Zebo for some decent game time when the next campaign kicks off. Speaking to the media this week Matt spoke about the frustration of missing out at a time when opportunity beckoned: “Injuries come and go in rugby but I’m looking forward to my return. I do not feel any pressure, I just get out there and try to play as well as possible. Munster have recorded 19 wins out of 24 games this season and hopefully we will add to that this Friday night.”

As well as Matt, tonight gives an opportunity to Liam Coombes to stake his claim for a wing spot next season while Chris Farrell (pictured) will be happy to get back into action after his lay-off. The game kicks off at 6.00pm. Leinster are also in action. They entertain the Dragons at the RDS Arena which will be played before a limited number of supporters for the first time since the lockdown.

Tonight, Friday, June 11
Zebre v Munster Rugby – KO 19:00 ITA / 18:00 UK & IRE
Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma
Referee: Andrea Piardi (FIR, 14th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Marius Mitrea, Clara Munarini (both FIR)
TMO: Matteo Lipperini (FIR)
Live on Premier Sports 1, eir Sport 1, Super Sport (SA), ESPN+ (USA),
Zebre: Jacopo Trulla, Giovanni D’Onofrio, Federico Mori, Enrico Lucchin, Pierre Bruno, Carlo Canna, Marcello Violi, Andrea Lovotti, Luca Bigi, Matteo Nocera, David Sisi, Leonard Krumov, Iacopo Bianchi, Potu Junior Leavasa, Renato Giammarioli.
Replacements: Marco Manfredi, Daniele Rimpelli, Nicolò D’Amico, Samuele Ortis*, Giovanni Licata, Nicolò Casilio, Filippo Di Marco, Michelangelo Biondelli.
Munster: Matt Gallagher; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Liam Coombes; Joey Carbery, Craig Casey; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Peter O’Mahony (c), Jack O’Donoghue, Gavin Coombes.
Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Liam O’Connor, Roman Salanoa, Thomas Ahern, Billy Holland, Nick McCarthy, Jake Flannery, Chris Cloete.
Leinster v Dragons – KO 20:15
RDS Arena, Dublin
Referee: Mike Adamson (SRU, 54th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Chris Busby, Eoghan Cross (both IRFU)
TMO: Brian MacNeice (IRFU)
Live on Premier Sports 1, eir Sport 1, Super Sport (SA), ESPN+ (USA),
Leinster: Hugo Keenan, Jordan Larmour, Garry Ringrose (CAPT), Rory O’Loughlin, Jimmy O’Brien, Ross Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park, Cian Healy, Rónan Kelleher, Michael Ben, Ryan Baird, James Ryan, Scott Fardy, Scott Penny, Caelan Doris.
Replacements: James Tracy, Michael Milne, Vakh Abdaladze, Devin Toner, Josh van der Flier, Luke McGrath, Harry Byrne, Cian Kelleher.
Dragons: Josh Lewis, Owen Jenkins, Aneurin Owen, Jamie Roberts, Rio Dyer, Sam Davies, Rhodri Williams (CAPT); Brok Harris, Elliot Dee, Aaron Jarvis, Joe Davies, Ben Carter, Harrison Keddie, Ollie Griffiths, Ross Moriarty.
Replacements: Richard Hibbard, Josh Reynolds, Chris Coleman, Joe Maksymiw, Taine Basham, Gonzalo Bertranou, Jack Dixon, Ioan Davies

You must be logged in to post a comment Login