Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Munster send their ‘best’ to try and stop the rot

APART from the possibility that they could yet meet in the final of the new Guinness Rainbow Cup (depending on Covid restrictions) to-morrow sees the meetings of the once bitter Old Firm rivals Munster and Leinster clash once again. Munster have selected their best available side in an effort to at last turn the tables on the blue province. Leinster have also showed their intent and it will be interesting to see how this latest game between the PRO14’s two best sides pans out. Garry Ringrose returns for Leinster and will captain the side from outside centre while Peter O’Mahony will skipper a very strong-looking Munster team that is seeking a long-awaited win over their rivals.
Kick-off is 5.35, venue RDS Arena, Dublin.
Referee: Chris Busby (IRFU, 8th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Sean Gallagher, Eoghan Cross (both IRFU)
TMO: Joy Neville (IRFU)
Live on eir Sport 1, Premier Sports 1, Super Sport (SA), ESPN+ (USA),
Deferred Coverage: 21:45 TG4
Leinster: Jordan Larmour, Dave Kearney, Garry Ringrose (c), Rory O’Loughlin, James Lowe; Harry Byrne, Hugh O’Sullivan; Ed Byrne, Dan Sheehan, Andrew Porter, Ross Molony, Ryan Baird, Josh Murphy, Scott Penny, Caelan Doris
Replacements: Seán Cronin, Peter Dooley, Michael Bent, James Ryan, Scott Fardy, Cormac Foley, Ciarán Frawley,Tommy O’Brien.
Munster: Mike Haley; Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende, Shane Daly; Joey Carbery, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (c), Jack O’Donoghue, CJ Stander.
Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, Keynan Knox, Fineen Wycherley, Gavin Coombes, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Calvin Nash.
This weekend will facilitate three innovative World Rugby Law Variation trials.
Saturday, April 24
Benetton v Glasgow Warriors – KO 13:00 UK / 14:00 ITA
Stadio de Monigo, Treviso
Referee: Marius Mitrea (FIR, 100th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Gianluca Gnecchi, Matteo Liperini (both FIR)
TMO: Stefano Penne (FIR)
Live on DAZN, Premier Sports 2, Super Sport (SA), ESPN+ (USA),
Benetton: Jayden Hayward, Leonardo Sarto, Ignacio Brex, Marco Zanon, Monty Ioane, Paolo Garbisi, Dewaldt Duvenage (CAPT), Thomas Gallo, Corniel Els, Filippo Alongi, Niccolò Cannone, Federico Ruzza, Riccardo Favretto, Michele Lamaro, Toa Halafihi.
Replacements: Gianmarco Lucchesi, Tomas Baravalle, Ivan Nemer, Irné Herbst, Manuel Zuliani, Alberto Sgarbi, Luca Petrozzi, Edoardo Padovani
Glasgow Warriors: Cole Forbes, Rufus McLean, Nick Grigg, Sam Johnson, Kyle Steyn, Ross Thompson, George Horne; Oli Kebble, George Turner, Zander Fagerson, Richie Gray, Rob Harley, Fotu Lokotui, Fraser Brown (CO-CAPT), Ryan Wilson (CO-CAPT).
Replacements: Grant Stewart, Tom Lambert, D’arcy Rae, Leone Nakarawa, Rory Darge, Ali Price, Ian Keatley, Ollie Smith. Ospreys v Cardiff Blues – KO 17:15
Liberty Stadium, Swansea
Referee: Sam Grove-White (SRU, 14th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Adam Jones, Mike English (both WRU)
TMO: Jon Mason (WRU)
Live on Premier Sports 1, Super Sport (SA), ESPN+ (USA),
Deferred Coverage: 20:35 S4C
Ospreys: Dan Evans, George North, Owen Watkin, Keiran Williams, Mat Protheroe, Josh Thomas, Matthew Aubrey, Nicky Smith, Ifan Phillips, Tom Botha, Adam Beard, Rhys Davies, Ethan Roots, Justin Tipuric (CAPT), Morgan Morris
Replacements: Sam Parry, Jordan Lay, Rhys Henry, Bradley Davies, Sam Cross, Reuben Morgan-Williams, Joe Hawkins, Cai Evans.
Cardiff Blues: B Thomas; J Harries, O Lane, M Llewellyn, H Amos; J Tovey, L Jones; R Gill, K Myhill (CAPT), K Assiratti, B Murphy, R Thornton, A Lawrence, G Bradley, J Ratti.
Replacement: L Belcher, R Carré, W Davies-King, T Williams, O Robinson, E Bevan, D Fish, I Feyi-Waboso
Leinster v Munster – KO 19:35

Sunday, April 25
Dragons v Scarlets – KO 13:00
Rodney Parade, Newport
Referee: Craig Evans (WRU, 20th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Nigel Owens, Gareth Newman (both WRU)
TMO: Dan Jones (WRU
Live on Premier Sports 1, eir Sport 2, Super Sport (SA), ESPN+ (USA),
Dragons: Jordan Williams, Jonah Holmes, Jared Rosser, Aneurin Owen, Rio Dyer, Sam Davies, Rhodri Williams (CAPT); Greg Bateman, Taylor Davies, Chris Coleman, Ben Carter, Joe Maksymiw, Ross Moriarty, Taine Basham, Aaron Wainwright
Replacements: Rhys Lawrence, Josh Reynolds, Aaron Jarvis, Matthew Screech, Dan Baker, Dan Babos, Evan Lloyd, Jack Dixon
Scarlets: Johnny McNicholl; Tom Rogers, Tyler Morgan, Jonathan Davies, Steff Evans; Sam Costelow, Dane Blacker; Rob Evans, Ryan Elias (CAPT), Alex Jeffries, Jake Ball, Morgan Jones, Blade Thomson, Iestyn Rees, Uzair Cassiem.
Replacements: Dafydd Hughes, Steff Thomas, Werner Kruger, Lewis Rawlins, Carwyn Tuipulotu, Kieran Hardy, Angus O’Brien, Steff Hughes.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login