Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Shannon best in thrilling Under 18.5 cup decider

North Munster Under 18.5 Cup final:
Shannon 15, Garryowen 10
A STRONG finish by Shannon saw them lift the Under 18 trophy after a hard-fought encounter in Liam Fitzgerald Park last night. Garryowen had led 10-5 going into the final stages but a try, conversion and penalty saw the result going the way of the Parish club.
Garryowen got the first score of the game after repelling strong pressure from their opponents and a penalty from out-half Colin Lew gave them the lead. A few minutes before the break Shannon took went in front with an unconverted try and it was 5-3 at half time.
The second half was equally exciting and competitive with a player from both sides shown red by referee Joy Neville. With 12 minutes remaining Garryowen got back into the lead at 10-5 when Liam Angermann burst through for a try which was converted by Colin Lew but it was Shannon who finished the strongest with a well-mauled try converted by Cillian O’Connor who also added a penalty before the finish.
Garryowen: Andrew Lyons; Alan Fitzgerald, Eoin O’Callaghan, Harry Bennis, Michael O’Mara; Colin Lew, Joe McEnery; Shaughnan Hanrahan, Max Clein, Mark Fitzgerald; Daniel Magee, Diarmuid Murphy, Thomas Collins, Andrew Ahern, Liam Angermann. Replacements, Jack O’Keeffe, James Burke, Harry Gleeson, Samuel Connolly, Ben Conway, Sean Magee, Marcus O’Donoghue, Adam McMahon.
Shannon: Paddy Hassett; Ryan Naughton, Cian O’Halloran, Harry Long, San Brown; Cillian O’Connor, Mark Moloney; Joe Costelloe, Conor Cleary, Emmet Calvey: Conor Ryan, Mark Walsh; Adam Kennedy, Alex Kennedy, Luke Murphy. Replacements, Conor O’Brien, Aaron McNamara, Peter Dougan, Scott Gleeson, Darragh Custy, Evin Crowe, Harry O’Donoghue, Aaron Byrnes.
Referee, Joy Neville, MAR.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login