Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Shannon flyer Greg O’Shea is named for Ireland 7s next tournament

RECENTLY in the spotlight as one of the Love Island tv series winners, Shannon winger Greg O’Shea is one of those named for Ireland 7s’ next challenge, a one-day event at London’s O2 Arena.
The Men’s and Women’s 7s squads have been named to take part in the inaugural Rugby X event with Jack Daly, Garryowen on the men’s squad and UL Bohemian’s Louise Galvin on the ladies, also selected
This fixture takes place on Tuesday next, 29th October. Apart from Daly and O’Shea, all those named in the men’s squad play with Dublin clubs
Rugby X is a new, fast paced format of rugby which is World Rugby approved. It is full contact rugby on a half-sized pitch. Each team will have five players on the pitch at any one time with up to seven rolling substitutes.
Lineouts, conversions and penalties have been removed which will lead to a quicker game. Each game will last ten minutes, with no half time.
Ireland, England, France, USA, Argentina and The Barbarians are competing in the Men’s competition where Ireland are named in group A, alongside The Barbarians and England.
Ireland, England, France and USA are competing in the women’s competition. Both competitions are running alongside with each other.
Speaking ahead of the announcement, Anthony Eddy, Director of Sevens Rugby said, “We are really looking forward to competing at RugbyX in London, it should be a great spectacle of rugby. This is the first event of this kind and both men’s and women’s teams are looking forward to competing. There is some great opposition and it should be a tremendous display of skills.”
Tickets are available for this spectacular rugby event from
Ireland Men and Women Sevens Schedule, RugbyX, O2 Arena, London – Tuesday 29th October.
16:30 Ireland Men v Barbarians
17:00 Ireland Women v USA
17:15 Ireland Men v England
20:30 Men QF 1
20:45 Men QF2
21:00 Women 3rd/4th Play-off
21:15 Men Semi-Final 1
21:30 Men Semi-Final 2
21:45 Women’s Final
22:00 Men’s Final
Ireland Men 7s Squad for RugbyX
Aaron O’Sullivan (UCD/ Leinster Rugby)
Adam Leavy (Lansdowne)
Billy Dardis (Terenure)
Cormac Izuchukwu (Old Wesley)
Greg O’Shea (Shannon)
Harry McNulty (UCD)
Hugo Lennox (Clontarf)
Mark Roche (Lansdowne)
Terry Kennedy (St Marys)
Max O’Reilly (DUFC/ Leinster Rugby)
Sean Cribbin (Old Belvedere)
Jack Daly (Garryowen/ Munster)
Ireland Women 7s Squad for RugbyX
Claire Boles (Railway Union/ Ulster)
Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird (Old Belvedere/Munster)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Munster)
Kathy Baker (Blackrock/ Leinster)
Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster)
Katie Heffernan (Mullingar/Railway Union/Leinster)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Lucinda Kinghan (Railway Union/Ulster)
Megan Burns (Tullamore/Leinster)
Stephanie Carroll (Railway Union)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login