Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Six wins on the trot is Munster’s aim in Scotstoun tomorrow night

THE Munster Rugby party will be having an early night. They fly off to Glasgow to-morrow morning and will return after the game. Scotstoun is a difficult venue for visiting teams but the Irish province are fully determined to continue their splendid start to the season with another victory. Their performances so far have been highly impressive and it looks likely, even at this early stage, that they will be in the mix for some silverware again this season.

Glasgow have been having a difficult time in their Conference and have just one victory recorded so far. Munster coach Stephen Larkham is well aware of the threat they will bring to their unbeaten run: “Winter rugby is the rugby that I grew up with in Canberra in Australia. We have learned so much over the past few months and this is going to prepare us well for the challenges ahead. This next game against Glasgow is going to be very tough but we will be well prepared for the challenge. The Warriors won their last game and they will want to add to that on Monday night.”

Johann van Graan has named a backrow of Fineen Wycherley, Jack O’Sullivan and Gavin Coombes while the partnership in the centre of Rory Scannell and Damian de Allende will continue to give strength to the midfield. JJ Hanrahan is on the bench and looks certain to get sufficient game time to bring his appearance tally up to the 100 mark.

“There is no real difference for me between 12 and 13,” Rory Scannell told us this week. “I’ve played in both at various times and I just concentrate on my game as normal and do what I can for the team. Playing alongside Damian has been good, he has a lot of experience and he is already a great help to the young guys coming through. We are adding bits to our attack in recent weeks and this side of our game is improving.”

With the other three provinces winning over the week-end, Munster will be hoping to keep the dominance of Irish rugby in prominence but the Scottish side will no roll over easily.

Munster:  Mike Haley; Calvin Nash, Rory Scannell, Damian de Allende, Matt Gallagher; Ben Healy, Craig Casey; James Cronin, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland ©; Fineen Wycherley, Jack O’Sullivan, Gavin Coombes.

 Rhys Marshall, Josh Wycherley, Keynan Knox, Jack O’Donoghue, Tommy O’Donnell, Nick McCarthy, JJ Hanrahan, Dan Goggin.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login