Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Some statistics from a Six Nations success to be justly proud of

By Frank Quinn
ESPECIALLY for the rugby nerds, our Dublin correspondent Frank Quinn has put together these Six Nations Grand Slam statistics. Frank writes: “Winning the grand slam for the second time since 2009 was a major achievement and warmest congratulations are expressed to everybody involved, not just the players and the coaching staff, but those behind the scenes.”
The IRELAND squad named for the 2018 NatWest 6 Nations Championship:
Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) C 106 caps
Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 5 caps
Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 56 caps
Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 11 caps
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 19 caps
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 73 caps
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 34 caps
Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 3 cap
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 22 caps
Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps
Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 42 caps
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 18 caps
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 42 caps
Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 3 caps
Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 3 caps
James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps
John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 11 caps
CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 18 caps
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 53 caps
Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 9 caps
BACKS (16)
Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 2 caps
Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 6 caps
Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 6 caps
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 62 caps
Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 2 caps
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 31 caps
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 78 caps
Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 7 caps
Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster)*
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 18 caps
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 32 caps
Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 6 caps
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 59 caps
Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 68 caps
Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 3 caps
Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 4 caps
*Denotes Uncapped Player
The Irish Grand Slam squad of 23 which played the final game against England was:
IRELAND squad v England, Saturday 17th March, 2018, Twickenham Stadium
15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 82 caps
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 66 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
12 caps 12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 6 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 8 caps
10. Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 72 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 63 caps
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 77 caps
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 110 caps Captain
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 22 caps
4. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 7 caps
5. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 37 caps
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 46 caps
7. Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 8 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 22 caps
16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 60 caps
17. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 46 caps
18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 6 caps
19. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 57 caps
20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 19 caps
21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 20 caps
22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 9 caps
23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 2 caps
In addition to this selected squad – the following EIGHT players were in the 23 Match Squad selections for the previous games.
France: Josh van der Flier, Luke McGrath, Both Leinster,
Italy: Robbie Henshaw, Leinster
Wales: Chris Farrell, John Ryan both Munster, Fergus McFadden and Jack Conan both Leinster, Quinn Roux, Connacht.
Scotland: the same 23 squad as England.
A total of 31 players made the squad selections, (Played five and won five).
Leinster 19, Munster 6, Connacht 3, Ulster 3.
The coach’s record: Joe Schmidt:
Player 55 test games in all competitions
Won 40, Drew 1, Lost 14
Unbeaten percentage is 75% at March 2108
This is the best performance by any Irish coach in the history of the IRFU.
The Assistant Coaches (Management): Simon Easterby – Forwards coach, Andy Farrell Defence coach.
Greg Feek Scrum coach, Richie Murphy Skills coach, Jason Cowan Strength and conditioning coach.
Team Manager Paul Dean.
Other members of the management structure:
David O’Siochain, Jason Cowman, Mervyn Murphy, Vinny Hammond, Willie Bennett, Colm Fuller, Keith Fox, Gerard Carmody, Ruth Wood-Martin, David Revins, Sinead Bennett, Dr. Ciaran Cosgrove, John Moran
President of the IRFU: Philip Orr
Chief Executive of the IRFU: Philip Browne

You must be logged in to post a comment Login