Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

THOMOND Park is expected to draw a decent attendance for tomorrow’s Guinness PRO14 Interpro derby against Connacht (7.35pm), with families taking up the opportunity of ticket availability, and Munster have selected a strong side for this final game of the season’s regular league fixtures.
There are four changes to the team that lined out against Saracens in last week’s Champions Cup semi-final. Dan Goggin, named Young Player of the Year earlier this week, Calvin Nash, Stephen Archer and Chris Cloete all come into the side. Goggin partners up with Chris Farrell (pictured) in the centre with the half-back pairing of Conor Murray and Tyler Bleyendaal unchanged.
Following the disappointing defeat at the hands of the Scarlets last Saturday, Munster will be hoping to reap some recovery therapy with a big performance in this derby game.
Connacht have also named their side with Robin Copeland making a return to the Limerick venue after his move from Munster. Shannon’s Stephen Fitzgerald will also be keen to impress on his home soil and he starts on the left wing for the western province.
With the quarter finals beckoning next week-end and Connacht paired with Ulster, the Connacht coach Andy Friend is hoping for good performance from his players: “We have huge competition in the squad and that is exactly what we need at this stage of the season. This is a big opportunity for everyone involved”, he said.
Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Dan Goggin, Calvin Nash; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander.
Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan, Billy Holland, Arno Botha, Neil Cronin, JJ Hanrahan, Sammy Arnold.
Connacht, (15-9): Tiernan O’Halloran, Niyi Adeolokun, Bundee Aki, Tom Daly, Stephen Fitzgerald: Conor Dean, Kieran Marmion; (1-8) Matthew Burke, Tom McCartney, Finlay Bealham; Joe Maksymiw, James Cannon; Eoin McKeon, Jarrad Butler (Capt), Robin Copleand.
Replacements (16-23): Shane Delahunt, Peter McCabe, Conor Carey, Eoghan Masterson, Paul Boyle, Caolin Blade, Eoin Griffin, Darragh Leader.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login