Limerick Rugby
Don't Miss

Winning bonus point a ‘must’ as Ireland prepare for Russian onslaught

IT looks like an emphatic win for Ireland in the morning against a Russian side that has already lost 30-10 to Japan on opening day and 34-9 to Samoa. After the disappointment of the defeat to Japan, the Irish will be really keen to prove that their ranking coming into this World Cup was not over-stated and they have named a side that will base their play on speed and clinical finishing.
The return of Bundie Aki, Johnny Sexton and Andrew Conway spells danger for the Russians and with the on-fire Dave Kilcoyne starting at loose head, Rob Kearney recovered to take the 15 jersey and the all-Munster pairing of Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne in the lock positions, we can expect fireworks from the start from the boys in green. Getting five points from this pool game, following Scotland’s display against Samoa on Tuesday, hardly needs mentioning but it will be imperative that Ireland put their marker down early with some points on the board from the start.
Russia v Ireland takes place at the Kobe Misaki Stadium in the morning (11.15am Irish time). The game will be televised by EIR and RTE (ROI) and ITV (NI) and live radio commentary from RTE Radio (ROI) and BBC (NI).
15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 93 caps
14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 16 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 26 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 21 caps
11. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 79 caps
10. Jonathan Sexton (St Marys College/Leinster) 85 caps captain
9. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 16 caps
1. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 33 caps
2. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 17 caps
3. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 20 caps
4. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 10 caps
5. Jean Kleyn (Munster) 3 caps
6. Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 24 caps
7. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 61 caps
8. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster) 29 caps
16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 71 caps
17. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 20 caps
18. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 38 caps
19. Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 50 caps
20. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 35 caps
21. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 20 caps
22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 9 caps
23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 18 caps

You must be logged in to post a comment Login