Limerick Rugby

Impact off the bench guides Munster to third place

HOLDERS Munster shot into the third position in the current URC race with a magnificent display in today’s game in South Africa. They have certainly thrown down the gauntlet to the others in the chasing group and another victory against the Lions next Saturday could secure them home advantage in the last eight.
They got the perfect start with Shane Daly charging over for the first try of the game and Crowley making it 0-7 on 22 minutes. The Bulls levelled the tie thanks to a try by Elrigh Louw, converted by Goosen who then added a penalty to put his side 10-7 to the good. A trademark RG Snydan try following great work by the pack minutes before halftime and a penalty and conversion by Crowley saw the holders lead 10-17 at the break.
The home team had out-half Johan Goosen sent off after 54 minutes for a dangerous challenge on Craig Casey and Munster went on to score tries by John Hodnett and Conor Murray sealed the bonus point victory. Crowley added the extra points as Munster repelled the Bulls attacks in the dying minutes to win 22-27.
The strength of the bench was certainly a factor with the replacements proving their worth.
This was the fourth victory for the Irish province in South Africa in this competition and on this performance an incredible second URC title is certainly possible.
Bulls: Willie Le Roux; Kurt-Lee Arendse, Canan Moodie, David Kriel, Sebastien de Klerk; Johan Goosen, Embrose Papier; Gerhard Steenekamp, Johan Grobbelaar, Wilco Louw; Ruan Vermaak, JF van Heerden; Cameron Hanekom, Reinhardt Ludwig, Elrigh Louw (capt).
Replacements: Akker van der Merwe, Simphiwe Matanzima, Mornay Smith, Janko Swanepoel, Mpilo Gumede, Zak Burger, Chris Smith, Devon Williams
Munster: Simon Zebo; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Conor Murray; Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; RG Snyman, Tadhg Beirne (capt); Peter O’Mahony, Alex Kendellen, Jack O’Donoghue.
Replacements: Eoghan Clarke, Josh Wycherley, Oli Jager, Tom Ahern, Gavin Coombes, Craig Casey, Joey Carbery, John Hodnett.
Referee: Adam Jones (WRU)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login