Limerick Rugby

Munster rely on their ‘impact bench’ for Ulster game

(Jack Crowley will hope to continue his successful season in the ten shirt)

THEY may be assured a place in the last eight but Munster are taking no chances with a very strong team named for the URC Round 18 clash against Ulster tomorrow at Thomond Park (5.15pm).
Fans can look forward to some sparkling running rugby as the Reds seek to record nine wins on the trot, and just in case things go the wrong way, Graham Rowntree can offload a few eager missiles from his talent-laden bench.
There are six personnel changes and one positional switch to the match-day squad that beat Edinburgh last time out as Simon Zebo, Seán O’Brien, Rory Scannell, Stephen Archer, RG Snyman and Peter O’Mahony all come into the starting XV.
Zebo is named at full-back with Calvin Nash and Shane Daly on either wing.
Scannell and O’Brien start together in midfield for the first time with Craig Casey and Jack Crowley continuing as the half-backs.
Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell and Archer pack down in the front row as captain Tadhg Beirne and Snyman renew their engine room partnership.
O’Mahony, Alex Kendellen and Jack O’Donoghue start together in the back row as O’Donoghue moves to no.8.
Eoghan Clarke, John Ryan and Oli Jager provide the front row back-up. Ryan is named as Munster’s loosehead prop replacement for the first time since January 2016.
On the injury front, Antoine Frisch was unavailable due to a leg injury.

Referee: Frank Murphy (IRFU, 86th league game)

AR 1: Robbie Jenkinson (IRFU)  AR 2: Andrew Fogarty (IRFU)

TMO: Andrew Brace (IRFU)

Live on: RTÉ, Premier Sports, SuperSport, Flo Rugby &

Munster: Simon Zebo, Calvin Nash, Seán O’Brien, Rory Scannell, Shane Daly, Jack Crowley, Craig Casey, Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, RG Snyman, Tadhg Beirne (c), Peter O’Mahony, Alex Kendellen, Jack O’Donoghue

Replacements: Eoghan Clarke, John Ryan, Oli Jager, Tom Ahern, Gavin Coombes, Conor Murray, Joey Carbery, John Hodnett

Ulster: Ethan McIlroy, Mike Lowry, Will Addison, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale, Billy Burns, John Cooney, Eric O’Sullivan, Rob Herring, Tom O’Toole, Kieran Treadwell, Alan O’Connor (c), Cormac Izuchukwu, David McCann, Nick Timoney

Replacements: Tom Stewart, Andy Warwick, Scott Wilson, Harry Sheridan, Matty Rea, Nathan Doak, Stewart Moore, Jude Postlethwaite.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login