Limerick Rugby

Munster’s second half gives them their eigth win on trot

URC Round 18:
Munster 29, Ulster 24

AFTER one of the most exciting URC games in Thomond Park this season, Munster showed their grit and determination to mark up their ninth victory on the trot with a thrilling victory over a very good Ulster side. It was a game that had everything

It was not a good first half for the home side. Their attack was weak, their amount of errors were out of charicter and losing centre Rory Scannel with a leg injury meant that one of the backline cover players had to play the second half. Ulster started in good shape despite a knock after the first kick of the game. It was beginning to be a game of errors, Munster loosing a lineout, Ulster knocking-on again to concede a scrum to Munster on their 22. Ulster lost their second row ‘Harry Sheeridan and at the next phase we got the first score of the game, RG Snyman’sbig frame getting over the whitewash. convered by Jack Crowley on 9 minutes. 

Fifteen minutes into the game Ulster levelled. They popped a penalty to into the corner. They mauled the ball lforward and Alan O’Connor got over with John Cooney converting. 7-7 after 19 minutes. On 21 minutes Ulster come downfield again and they took the lead from a penalty in front of the posts which John Cooney converted with ease to give his side a three point lead on 23 minutes.

On 26 minutes Munster flicked the speed dial with some blinding running rugby but Ulster survived. The home side were going through an uneasy period and a few errors munst have had Rountree rising from his seat in the stand. Crowley failed to find touch from a penalty kick and then concedes possession with another one from the boot. Ulster were having the lion’s share of possession as the game neared half time. An injury to Rory Scannell saw Joey Carbery take the field and a fine break by Munster saw them turned over once again as the first half errors continued to amount. On the stroke of the short whistle, Ulster nearly scored, but Jacob Stockdale’s kick ahead was dealt with by the Munster defence but not for long. Into injury time Ulster scored a crucial try when David McCann got over  and John Cooney added the extras to give his side a 7-15 lead at the break.

The second half was frenetic with Munster emptying the bench on 50 minutes and it paid off, a flowing break with all the backliners contributing beforem Calvin Nash touched down far out. The conversion was as difficult as you could imagine but Jack Crowley hit the target to the joy of the home support. With just three points. Ulster replied within two minutes, Cormac Izuchukwu scoring a try and John Cooney’s conversion bring the score to Munster 14, Ulster24 with 56 minutes played. This URC game continued to entertain and the holders showed their credentials when Shane Daly dotted dfown at the Mayorsting end and Crowley’s conversion left just three points between the sides again. An audacious sling of the ball from Craig Casey is worth mentioning as this classic rocked too and fro to in front of the 17,496 attendance.

On 68 minutes Munster were awarded a penalty in front of the posts but with Crowley indicating he would go for the posts, captain Beirne pointed to the corner. It was a good decision with reserve hooker Eoghan Clarke getting over. Crowley this time missed the conversion, the ball coming back off the left hand upright. With nine minutes to go and leading by two points, Ulster had time to snatch victory if they could get good territory in the Ballynanty end.  It was not to be with a 77 minute penalty from Jack Crowley sealing the win.

Munster: Simon Zebo, Calvin Nash, Seán O’Brien, Rory Scannell, Shane Daly, Jack Crowley, Craig Casey, Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, RG Snyman, Tadhg Beirne (c), Peter O’Mahony, Alex Kendellen, Jack O’Donoghue.
Replacements: Eoghan Clarke, John Ryan, Oli Jager, Tom Ahern, Gavin Coombes, Conor Murray, Joey Carbery, John Hodnett.
Ulster: Ethan McIlroy, Mike Lowry, Will Addison, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale, Billy Burns, John Cooney, Eric O’Sullivan, Rob Herring, Tom O’Toole, Kieran Treadwell, Alan O’Connor (c), Cormac Izuchukwu, David McCann, Nick Timoney
Replacements: Tom Stewart, Andy Warwick, Scott Wilson, Harry Sheridan, Matty Rea, Nathan Doak, Stewart Moore, Jude Postlethwaite.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login